WP2: Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder (Unless She is a Woman)

Sade Adeniran
Writing 150
Published in
9 min readDec 13, 2021

White, Blonde, Tall, Skinny.

Some variation of these four words appeared in every conversation I recorded about the beauty standard at USC and yet no one knew exactly why they were so readily accepted as the ideal. The association between beauty and whiteness often feels ingrained in American culture. The prototype of a tall, skinny blond with blue eyes and an hourglass figure has been America’s beauty standard for decades now, and even as the country becomes more diverse, the standard lives on. This is because beauty is a form of power, and the power hierarchy in our country is built to keep “white” on top.

This idea is perpetuated through small microaggressions that minority women encounter in everyday life. I remember when I straightened my hair for the first time, and my white male teacher commented, “Wow, your new hair looks really nice Sade. You should keep it like this.” Not only was the comment slightly creepy it also reinforced the idea in my head that white features equal beautiful features.

Women of color encounter these types of comments all the time, and the more they hear things like this, the harder it is to believe they are not true. In order to break this cycle, the burden of change is often placed on the oppressed. There is a new trend of “decolonizing” the beauty standard. Minority women across the country are changing their beauty routines to accentuate their natural features instead of trying to make them fit the eurocentric standard. This is an inspiring step in the right direction, but it should not be their responsibility to rectify their oppression.

Although the beauty standard has a uniquely negative impact on women of color, it is also built to suppress all women. The idea of the “perfect woman” is impossible to achieve. There is always something to be fixed: some weight to be lost or an implant to be added. No woman is ever good enough. Even supermodels are criticized for being too skinny and then called out when they gain weight.

My goal in this project was to interview a wide variety of women and see how the beauty standard at USC affects the way they view themselves. The participants came from different racial and ethnic backgrounds, and yet they were all negatively impacted by the prototype of an “ideal girl.”

What we discovered is that beauty is subjective. Anyone can be beautiful if they believe it is true and society needs to start teaching us that. This change starts with better representation of women of color as beauty icons so that all young girls have the opportunity to see their features as beautiful. Almost every girl I interviewed said that the most beautiful person they know was beautiful not just for their looks but for the positivity and love they gave to others. The objectification of the female form has made women feel like their power is tied to their appearance. We need to start teaching girls that they are valuable for qualities like intelligence and empathy instead of just beauty and sexuality.

These girls’ stories are only a few that reflect the struggle women in America face to accept their beauty. I asked each girl to send me a photo where she feels beautiful so you can see her beauty through her eyes. I hope their words serve as inspiration and comfort to other women who are also on the journey to claim their confidence.

These are their stories:

Irene

Who is the most beautiful person you can think of and why?

Irene: Definitely my mom. I think she has the type of beauty that comes from within… although she is also really pretty. But she is always selfless and she chooses to look at the positive side of things. I really admire that about her.

When do you feel beautiful?

Irene: I think when I am confident in myself. Like whenever I do my self-care routine it makes me feel really beautiful because I am taking care of myself. Once I do that I feel ready to start the day.

Do you think there is a beauty standard at USC?

Irene: There is definitely a beauty standard at USC. It is usually that stereotypical tall, skinny, white-blond girl who gets all the attention here. It is actually pretty similar to the beauty standard in my hometown because I am from a predominantly white community. I think it might be a bit of a culture shock to some people but for me, it is very similar to where I grew up.

Do you feel beautiful at USC?

Irene: Yeah most of the time I do. I have always understood that I am not in the majority. Since I was little I always wanted to be an actress and work in film or broadcast journalism but my mom worked in the industry and she always told me that it was a really difficult career as an Asian-American. When I got a call back it usually is not for the role I wanted, not the main role, it is always a side part. So I think I am used to not fitting the standard that everyone tries to put me in. It is definitely frustrating to constantly feel overlooked but I have built up thick skin so I can handle it.

Lilly

Who is the most beautiful person you can think of and why?

Lilly: Actually I think it is you! I know it sounds cliché but you are beautiful on the outside and the inside. You are just such a warm person to be around and you make me feel beautiful and appreciated when I am with you.

When do you feel the most beautiful?

Lilly: Hmmm, that’s a good question. I think when I put on an outfit that I like and feel really confident in. There is something about looking nice that puts me in a good mood. That inner happiness also makes me feel good because sometimes when I am sad it is hard to feel beautiful.

Do you think there is a beauty standard at USC?

Lilly: Oh 100%. I don’t know exactly what it is but it’s kind of like America’s beauty standard on steroids. Skinny, tall, blond, and put together. I feel like I always see these girls who are super fashionable and they look like they have their life together.

Do you feel beautiful at USC?

Lilly: Sometimes… I think that the way I view myself is constantly changing. There are some days when I think I am the shit and then other days when I just feel awful. The beauty standard definitely affects me because I am always comparing myself to the people around me. I wish I didn’t do that but it’s impossible not to. There are always constant reminders that I am not the same as these girls. I stopped using social media because it just feels so toxic sometimes. I am definitely working on building up my confidence but it is a slow process.

Samira

Who is the most beautiful person you know and why?

Samira: The most beautiful person I know is my aunt. She is beautiful on the outside and has the prettiest big brown eyes. But what makes her beautiful is her personality. Her generosity and kindness and care for other people are none like I’ve ever seen before. And that’s what makes her beautiful to me. Beauty exceeds past looks — it’s personality too!

When do you feel the most beautiful?
Samira: I feel the most beautiful when I’m around people that uplift me and support me. Girls supporting girls!

Do you think there is a beauty standard at USC? If so what is it?

Samira: I definitely think there is a little bit. I think people are always trying to dress like “LA”, being “blonde, skinny, hot, put-together”. We are right in the middle of this big city, so it’s understandable. At the beginning of my time here, I did think that there was a beauty standard catered more to Eurocentric features. But the more time I spend here I realize that there is much more diversity than I had originally realized.

Do you feel beautiful at USC?
Samira: I do now but I definitely didn’t when I first got here. Going back to what I said in the earlier question, I think I used to feel like there was a standard that I simply didn’t fit into. But the more time I spend here surrounding myself with people that uplift me I realize that I do feel beautiful at USC and there is no mold that is needed to make me feel beautiful.

Maria

Who is the most beautiful person you can think of and why?

Maria: Probably my mom… or Angelina Jolie.

When do you feel beautiful?

Maria: Whenever I am tan. Or when I am outside in the sun because I feel like I am glowing. It kind of makes me feel like a goddess.

Do you think there is a beauty standard at USC?

Maria: Um, yes. I feel like even though there is a lot of diversity at USC there is still a very eurocentric beauty standard that is prevalent.

Do you feel beautiful at USC?

Maria: Yeah, actually I do. I think I had a lot of insecurities in high school but I kind of worked through them before I got here so I am able to just be confident in myself and not worry what other people think. Even though I know I don’t fit the beauty standard here, I don’t really care because I like the way I look. I don’t want to change myself to be anyone else, if someone is attracted to me for me that is the type of person I want in my life.

Sade

Who is the most beautiful person you know and why?

Sade: I think the most beautiful person I know is either my mom or Jasmine Tookes. My mom is just the kind of person that is beautiful every second of the day. It doesn’t matter if she is dressed up or just working in her garden she always seems to just glow. Jasmine Tookes is like my beauty icon. I look up to her so much because she is just so confident in everything she does. She is a model but she doesn’t starve herself or pretend to be someone she is not.

When do you feel the most beautiful?

Sade: I feel the most beautiful when I do my whole skincare routine and get dressed in an outfit I really love. It isn’t so much that I like to look nice for other people, it is more that I feel like I am taking care of myself. But I can also feel like that when I put on my favorite pajamas and dance around the room. It is more about feeling confident in myself when I look in the mirror. That is something that comes from within, clothes and makeup and all that is just a way to boost yourself up when you feel that confidence flickering.

Do you think there is a beauty standard at USC? If so what is it?

Sade: I definitely think there is a beauty standard at USC. Somehow we all know that being white, blond, and skinny is the ideal but in reality, I don’t even think those people are any more beautiful than anyone else. It is just hard to let go of that beauty standard because I feel like I am constantly being reminded of it: on social media, on tv, and even the things people say in real life.

Do you feel beautiful at USC?

Sade: Most of the time I do. I felt really out of place when I first got here because I felt so different than the normal beauty standard. Then I realized it is kind of boring to look like everyone else. Now I kind of like that I am different because it makes me stand out. There are definitely times when I regress and hear or see something that makes me feel really insecure but for the most part, I have accepted that being different is actually kind of cool.

--

--