WP2: Biculturalism in America: Women’s Battle Against Beauty

Monna Wei
Writing 150
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2022

Beauty standards surround every aspect of a woman’s life, no matter if they desire to conform to them or not. They’re promoted in advertisements, film franchises, social media, real life — you name it. No matter how much I’ve tried to push American standards out of my head, it somehow follows me everywhere. I’ve realized that one cannot actively and completely avoid societal standards, even if they have learned to accept their appearance because standards will find a way to worm their way into our heads.

For example, this can show up in our education about the unhealthy consumerism habits of not just Americans, but people from other countries as well. We will always be aware of our bodies and our habits because beauty standards are not just a social or gendered issue anymore, it is becoming an economic, capitalistic, and mental health issue. As mentioned in my past writing, I have felt like there was a dilemma that bicultural women struggle against when the checklist of what makes a woman beautiful differs so much in between cultures. I feel this struggle, especially between American and Chinese cultures. How can I feel pretty when I don’t feel like I fit into American nor Chinese cultures enough? It’s caused a large hole of self-esteem and body insecurity issues that I am still learning to patch up. Moreover, the trends that both cultures follow are so fast to come and go that I have become too tired of trying to keep up with them, which has allowed me to care less about them. But not conforming doesn’t mean I can turn a blind eye to the destructive influence of consumerism as I know many people who do follow trends, and in turn, lose their money and self-confidence to appearance enhancers (that they will become bored of in less than a month and donate).

As much as I can expand on my thoughts of consumerism, particularly a bicultural lens, I wanted to understand any other outstanding issues that beauty standards cause by interviewing some women who have some experience with the biculturalistic beauty trap. Miraculously, I was able to get insight from four different cultures – two from East Asia, one from Mexico, and one from the general Black culture. Hopefully, through engaging with a larger variety of cultures, I can better understand the struggles that other women go through and that, as an oppressed society, we are all in this together.

Exhibit 1: Korean vs. American

Exhibit 2: Nigerian vs American

Exhibit 3: Chinese vs American

Exhibit 4: Mexican vs American

Exhibit 5: My response

--

--