WP2: How the Beauty Standard Affects the Workforce

Sienna Blanche
Writing 150
Published in
17 min readMar 19, 2022

I know there are injustices in the world and I know that these injustices impact every aspect of every person’s life, whether that be constantly getting opportunities when other people are more qualified or constantly facing stereotypes that hinder your everyday life. These injustices stem from many different sources, some originating all the way back to the foundation of the United States as a country. An example of such a concept that has been in our country since its founding that has caused turmoil for hundreds of demographics is the eurocentric beauty standard. As a Black girl in America, I have always wondered why it was so important to be blonde, white, and skinny; why my afro was always considered unprofessional in comparison to bone straight hair; why I was always placed at a higher societal value compared to my darker parents — even within our own black community. To this day, I still do not have a full answer to this inquiry. I cannot explain why racism has such a chokehold on the world or why we as a society cannot seem to flip racism on its head and lessen its effect. What I can do is expose the negative experiences that most people have in relation to the racially motivated beauty standard in an effort to awaken the majority of society in order to get more people involved with this issue.

I identify as a Black woman and am affected by the stereotypes perpetrated towards Black women and therefore can only talk about my experiences as a Black woman in America. In this project I wanted to uncover how deeply the beauty standard affects other Black women specifically in the field of the workplace because the other thing that makes America functional besides how ‘beautiful’ we are is our ability to make money. Growing up I had always known about stereotypes that portray Black women as aggressive, loud, and ghetto and wanted to know if these stereotypes extended all the way to the workplace. Using this inquiry as a driving factor of my research I created five research questions and interviewed six women, each from different fields, ages, and walks of life. Below are their stories and experiences.

Maria Flowers

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

Maria Flowers, 45, Director of Health Equity and Belonging

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not?

Sometimes, I feel valued other times I do not. I lead Health Equity and Belonging efforts at my company which also involves product management. I work for a workforce development solution company which is very sales heavy, which I was not fully aware of when I took the role. I feel appreciated when it comes time to put me in front of a client and ‘talk up’ the company and what we are doing around my role but when it comes to the numbers, especially my salary I do not feel appreciated.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

I do not feel as though I have had the same opportunities as my peers. I can see in the past how I may have been in my own way. However, I did not have a true mentor through college and am a first generation college graduate. I feel I had a bit more guidance earlier on in my educational and career journey, I would have been able to identify and act upon opportunities when they were presented.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

In my current role, I face the struggle of being the only one in the room most of the time and by nature of the role being a spokesperson for all things diversity. Healthcare administration is mostly white and largely male and in meeting settings there is an opportunity to get looked over and not initially be taken seriously. In my 20+ year career in healthcare I have always felt the need to prove myself. To prove that I am just as capable and worthy of the role, the pay, the space as they are.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

There is definitely more room to create greater opportunities for improvement. I will say things have changed tremendously even in the last two years in this respect than it was over twenty years ago. I have experienced my fair share of discrimination on the job, and distrust in my ability. I have also experienced harassment and bullying in my career as well. These experiences can make you doubt yourself, your own worth if you are not careful. Especially, when you do not see yourself in leadership roles and opportunities for promotion. It is also very tiring to try to be and do all that they want. Not only can you lose sight of who you are but you can also feel perpetually inadequate as you can never do enough for them.

Nieta Loubeau

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

Nieta Loubeau, age 53, and occupation Registered Dental Hygienist.

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not?

In some aspects yes and others no.Yes, because I am a part of a dental team which collectively our mission is to provide dental care and prevent oral diseases. No, because sometimes I don’t feel valued by certain patients as a healthcare provider. Sometimes patients think of hygienists as the people that cleans teeth rather than a profession that prevent diseases and contribute to their overall health.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

Again, for me this question is a yes and no answer because my career as a registered dental hygienist is a little unique. Most of my career as an RDH has been either active duty or as a government contractor working with the military. As far as equal opportunities working with the military absolutely. I also worked in private practice as an RDH and the experiences were completely different. I had to work harder and was questioned more than others professionally. I had patients that did not want the black hygienist as their provider. As a black woman RDH I would never work in the private sector because I have been a part of and witnessed many unfair situations.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

My profession is mostly women so from that aspect not too many struggles. From being a woman who is black there are struggles. Having patients only wanting the white hygienist to provide treatment. I worked in an all- white private practice for about 2 months, and it was very uncomfortable for all of us. When I finally put in my 2 weeks’ notice they celebrated. I just wasn’t a good fit for that office at all and honestly I think the only reason I was hired was because they have some minority patients. Other struggles were being questioned more by white patients and dentists questioning my knowledge when I was providing the same treatment plans that other hygienists were providing.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

Absolutely, I think all employees no matter the race, gender or background should feel respected, valued and seen as an important part of the team to complete the goals and the missions. Some of my experiences such as not feeling valued, having a voice and sometimes not being respected as a professional with the same credentials as others lead me to believe that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce.

Taralee Gardner

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

My name is Taralee Gardner. I am 34 and I work Public Relations for the US Army.

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not?

I feel valued but mostly because there are very few soldiers who are in my line of work. I kind of create my own value because we are a small group but there are additionally even smaller amounts of minorities that work in my field, so my value is almost internal. I know the varying opinions that I bring to the table and the difference in thought and other things that I can contribute. So I do feel valued but it’s not necessarily something that is provided to me externally.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

Yes and no. Early in my career, the answer would’ve been no. There were a few times where it was explicitly told to me that because I was a woman, or because I’m African American, or because I’m an immigrant to the US I wasn’t smart enough or good enough or whatever the case is. I work in a very male dominated environment and there are times where I’m the only woman and it becomes uncomfortable. I’ve had situations where I’ve had femine products that I leave discreetly in an area, just in case, and I’ve come in and found tampons just unwrapped and all over because somebody felt like it, which is almost degrading. So as I’ve grown in my career, it has gotten better and I would say that the societal shift in the last decade or so to a more inclusive environment, more focused on ensuring that we provide value to people no matter what they look like or what their gender is. So as I’ve grown in my career, it’s actually gotten a little bit better and the events of last January opened a lot of leadership’s eyes to the fact that there is still racism and things that stem from that that are occurring to soldiers that are actively serving. So a lot of things have changed in the last two years or so that have kind of pushed my answer from no to yes.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase, “you have to work twice as hard to be just as good,” which has been true. It has been very true, not to ring my own bell, but I’m one of the few people in my rank that has the educational level that I have, yet I’m still overshadowed by male counterparts because they’re men and I’ve also been labeled as aggressive. Around the time of the 2016 election I was in Afghanistan, in which I was in an environment where I was the only woman there, and I was the only Black woman there. There were so many times where things turned into a screaming match because I had to assert myself versus my male counterparts who never had to do that. I had to make sure the men that I was working with understood that because I have boobs does not mean you get to question what I am telling you. It is still lawful and legal, I’m not telling you anything wrong, you just don’t want to hear it because it’s coming from me. As I have stated, it’s gotten better, but there are still some issues that I think we’ll continue to face over the next couple of years.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

Yes. I started active duty in 2018, prior to that I had a civilian job. When I was hired for that civilian job I was the only African American woman in senior management. Everyone else were caucasian males or caucasian females. There were a few times where I was verbally told that I’m too aggressive and when I asked for examples, it wasn’t that I was aggressive, it was that I was holding people to a standard. Which is not wrong, I wasn’t walking in and having people do push ups. I just had a standard and I was going to stand by it. I’ve been told to comb my hair, but when my hair is not braided it’s in an afro. That’s just how it is. I’m not going to process my hair to make you feel comfortable. I’ve had the discussion about why people can’t shorten my first name. Well that’s the name on my birth certificate and I really don’t care if you don’t want to say the whole thing. Call me ma’am if that makes you feel better. So yes, I do think there is room for improvement but I believe it has to start with acknowledgement. I think a lot of my caucasian counterparts don’t acknowledge that certain things still do occur, that certain biases are still within certain people and you can’t correct the bias if you don’t acknowledge that it might be present. I think that another method of growth would be correcting things even when it doesn’t apply to you. So to the coworker that told me to comb my hair, another coworker was in the breakout room when that comment was made and she just looked at me and went about her business. That was an opportunity to stand up for someone even though that comment would never apply to you because you are also caucasian. So I think a lot of acknowledgement has to happen in order for growth to occur but there is definitely room for that growth to occur especially now. As social media develops, it’s brought to the forefront a lot more often for more people to see and kind of think on their own.

Marquitta Bowman

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

My name is Dr. Marquitta Bowman, Psy.D., I am 40 years old and I am a clinical psychologist. I am currently the Assistant Director and Director of internship training at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale Counseling and Psychological Services.

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not?

I feel valued in my occupation because it gives future women an opportunity to see representation in a field that is Founded by older white men. I think psychology has changed, so has the mindset of others. Today, women are typically a driving force in this field. Additionally, I have the pleasure of training students to become the best psychologist that they can be which is absolutely rewarding. I’m the only person of color (African-American) to hold a high position within my agency and that speaks volumes because I’ve done the work.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

In regard to equal opportunities, I would say as a navy reservist because that is my other occupation, I don’t get the same opportunities even though I’m highly qualified and somewhat overqualified than my counterparts. As a psychologist, at times, I felt this way. I’ve had to go the extra mile to show others that I was smart, that I had a great education, that I was good at what I did. The sad part about all of this is that I shouldn’t have to do that because others didn’t have to prove that to me. It’s a double edge sword because I am African-American, and I am a woman and both military and the field of psychology are predominantly male occupations.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

Some of the struggles that I faced in my line of work is that if I’m direct, it’s taken as me being an angry black woman. I feel like I have to be very cautious with my tone and how I word things which is unfair because someone else can say the exact same thing and no one will take offense to it. Secondly, there are times when I try to correct behaviors and some men will try to dictate my authority. The key thing is that I’m still consistent and I don’t back down and that is why I’m in the position that I am in today because I do things the right way. Last, there is a lot of micro and macro aggression from others. It’s fascinating that society thinks that BIPOC people don’t have the privilege to be brilliant.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

I think there’s always room for improvement. Diversity and inclusivity is really important in today’s workforce. I’ve been selected to be the co-chair of our diversity and inclusion task force. This is huge because I’m at a university in a small white rural town. The people that I work with grew up here, yet they want to learn, they want to grow and by doing so, they do their own research. They understand that it’s not up to me to give them the answers but to seek out understanding by Getting to know the BIPOC community, a women, black women, and become allies to break down barriers and stigmas so that it enables people like you and me to climb the ladder without having to fight others to get there.

Dominique Price-Conley

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

My name is Dominique Price-Conley, I am 33 years old, and I am a licensed independent clinical social worker.

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not?

In my profession I feel valued. There have been roles in my occupation where I do not. Social work is dominated by white women, and the career lends to personal experience and marginalized individuals and/or populations so there have always been cultural differences when being taught the work, approaching the work, and what successful intervention looks like for who based off of societal norms and construction.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

Absolutely not. There is a standardized test that social workers have to take. In some states you have to be licensed at the masters level after your degree in order to hold certain titles. What we know about Black individuals or marginalized groups in standardized testing, we know that there is a gap in those numbers in who can perform. The test is also developed on a eurocentric model, so it’s not culturally responsive. After you receive your first level of license which is your masters level, in some states there’s a clinical level. If they don’t have the masters level there’s still a clinical level you have to sit hours for and some people are held in jobs that are not healthy for their mental or physical well being just to obtain hours, they’re scared to leave, they have bosses withholding from [hours] them. So I don’t think that it’s an even playing field, I don’t think that the interventions are culturally responsive, I don’t think the theories that are taught are culturally responsive, and I think that there needs to be more diversity and representation to service what America looks like.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

I faced relatability, I faced issues with transference and property position, I faced barriers in terms of moving up — not being able to have access to opportunities because of things like licensure, who is represented, succession plan and rate, not knowing who is above or in diverse circles because I don’t have that same access. I can’t vacation with you guys, or I’m not invited. It becomes inclusive spaces based on who you went to school with, or what connections you have. So you enter the field with a deficit so there are just some barriers to doing this work from behind that really play into the success and the job in the workplace.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

Yes, there is absolutely more space for inclusion in the workplace. I think what’s made me feel this way is the limited representation and the limited equity, so I know the limitations state that there’s growth opportunities there. Additionally, the world has a high priority to be inclusive and younger generations are speaking out about indifference and placing boundaries on work, so I think that is free and innovative practice in the workplace. With innovation comes more room for diversity to bridge those gaps in the talent source in which people are now recruiting can be biased. I mean if someone is looking at your linkedin they automatically know what race you are, but if they are looking at you for a social media manager and they see the work you’ve done there’s creativity in that. That’s where some individuals thrive that might not have the access to pass their resume from somebody, so I do see opportunity and I do believe that things will change in the workplace and in professions. Then you have a lot of marginalized individuals advocating and the ways in which they are advocating really shows that they can do the work based off of experience alone thus moving away from hierarchical standards or more traditional factors is going to be transformative for creating change in the workforce.

Nina Schwartz

1: What is your name, age, and occupation?

Nina M. Schwartz, 53, Real Estate Agent

2: Do you feel valued in your occupation? Why or why not

Yes, because I’m able to help with generational wealth.

3: Do you feel like you have had equal opportunities as your peers? Why or why not?

Not so much as unequal, but just more challenging.

4: What struggles have you faced as a Black woman in your field of work?

My struggle comes from my name not matching my look. When an agent (or anyone) speaks with me on the phone they are more friendly and cooperative, but when we meet, the energy changes and they seem to be less friendly and more dismissive.

5: Do you think that there is room for improvement for more inclusive spaces in the workforce? If so, what experiences made you feel this way?

There is always room for improvement for women and even more for Black Women. We are seen as lazy, loud, and aggressive when discussing a problem in the workplace and are less likely to advance because of this…That’s the problem.

Based on my interviews each of the women had very similar experiences despite being from different fields of work, in fact most of the questions were answered unanimously. Across the board, the participants felt that there is room for improvement for inclusion in the workspace based off of experiences of discrimination and a general lack of respect due to their race and gender. They also expressed that the majority of their value in their individual occupations comes from internal sources, that the profession that they work in and the value it brings to society is what drives them rather than the people they work with because the people that they worked with did not necessarily place the level of importance or value in them that they deserved. Stereotypes of black women being loud, lazy, and aggressive contributed to a lack of equal opportunities in several parts of the workplace including climbing the ladder in terms of rank and in gaining respect from peers. This lack of respect facilitates macro and microaggressions that black women have to endure while keeping them at the bottom of the social food chain which leads to black women being left out of social activities.

The participants expressed that the workplace could use improvements in terms of inclusivity but things such as discrimination have gotten better over their years in the professional world. Some expressed that improvements could be made in terms of allyship to black women in the workforce so the frequency of microaggressions can decrease and make the workplace less volatile environment for BIPOC.

My hope for the future is that people could look at these interviews realize and recognize the misconduct that occurs to nearly every black woman in America and take a stand in ensuring that the constant discrimination lessens.

--

--