WP2: Meaning in the Mundane

Kayla Nickfardjam
Writing 150
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2021
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Prelude:

In 9th grade, I enrolled in my first honors English class. Here, I was introduced to a new realm of thought, which forever changed my perspective on life. Whereas before, I had mainly read stories where the meaning was plainly apparent, I was suddenly introduced to more sophisticated work, which relied heavily upon the interpretation to be adequately understood. I was surprised to learn that even seemingly arbitrary details like the colors of the setting or a character’s clothing were figurative aids in conveying the authorial intent. Everything in literature was fair game for analysis and each student interpreted the purpose of literary elements differently based on their own values and experiences. Over time, my teacher and peers had taught me a new and invaluable skill: how to derive meaning when it’s not clearly evident.

This mode of thought not only changed the way I read fiction, but it also altered the way I perceive the world around me. Suddenly, I started seeing symbolism and metaphors in even the most mundane aspects of life. The world became a novel and I was both the protagonist and the thoughtful reader. The rain outside foreshadowed my impending misfortune, the healing cut on my thumb was a metaphor for my redemption after pain, the wildflowers sprouting in my garden symbolized the beginning of a cheerful new phase of my life. Just like reading literature, at first glance, these had no inherent significance, but when filtered through my values and unique worldview they became meaningful to me.

To this day, I still can’t help but act as though my life is a story begging to be analyzed. Viewing the world around me as such has helped me learn more about myself. It prompts me to reflect on my life and form opinions about my past and myself. This is especially the case when I look at objects in my bedroom as they are all directly related to me in some way. This archive demonstrates how objects in my bedroom serve as figurative representations of my life and have sparked deep personal reflection.

Read about each object below:

#1: Ring Dish

#2: Stickers

#3: Light

--

--