WP3 | The Journey to Bettering Mental Health: Routines

Ashley Wang
Writing 150
Published in
11 min readNov 18, 2021

There has been a longstanding stigma against mental health, despite the fact that people around the world suffer from a variety of disorders. Despite its prevalence, our society has categorized all who suffer from mental health as weak, weird, ill, or incompetent, instead of supporting these individuals through their courageous efforts in their own internal fight to see the better days ahead. Our society needs to lessen this stigma by continuing to have more open, honest, engaging dialogue. This is the only way that we will be productive in promoting ways for individuals to better their own mental health, whether that be by seeking professional help or by finding alternative coping mechanisms during times of stress. We, as individuals, can further contribute to these larger conversations by sharing coping mechanisms that have helped us through our own set of unique struggles. In particular, I have found a positive shift in my mental health after establishing daily routines, as it brings me the consistency and control that I feel I lacked in my day to day agenda.

Mental health disorders vary widely in type and prevalence, however, depression ranks as one of the most common. The “magnitude and consequences of depression are underscored by a recent Global Burden of Disease (GBD) report that ranks depression as the second leading cause of ‘years lived with disability’, or YLDs, in the world” (Scott). Rates of depression have continued to skyrocket, especially since we are currently living at the peak of the era of social media. The toxic culture of social media apps to display the idea of having a perfect life or to promote images of celebrities with unrealistic body standards is a driving force behind the rising rates of depression, as younger generations are becoming more exposed to these quixotic ideas of “success”. Almost everyone with social media, myself included, have been guilty of comparing themselves to popular celebrities even when knowing of the existence of photo alteration services and key marketing/publicity methods. We must protect our younger generation by continuing to educate them about mental health disorders and how to maintain a healthy relationship with social media if we are to even attempt to destigmatize poor mental health.

Even with the data that we have now, current statistics on mental health do not reflect true accurate data because the stigma that still surrounds mental health disorder discourages people from being fully transparent with their mental health. Even when responses on forms or surveys are anonymous, many still fear that admitting they may struggle with a disorder will be recorded, thus resulting in respondents lying on these forms. Without accurate data, it is difficult for experts to analyze how our culture has impacted the prevalence of depression, anxiety, eating disorders, and other disorders. Our society needs to continue talking about the sensitivities of mental health in a more positive light if we are to break this stigma. Only then will individuals feel comfortable speaking up and out about their own journeys, thus, allowing for productive and meaningful conversations around mental health.

My personal journey in bettering my mental health started in my junior and senior years of high school. I was overwhelmed with academics, extracurriculars, sports, and other familial obligations that I had to fulfill. I felt that I was not in control of my schedule, let alone my life, which led me down a path of uncertainty and anxiety. This stress began to affect me physically, mentally, and emotionally, which could have been detrimental had it gone on any longer. After watching my mental health deteriorate, some of my friends convinced me to go to my school’s Wellness Center to ask a faculty member for help. Instead, I was turned away and sent back to class because “math is a core class that I couldn’t skip”. I was shocked and upset because I approached a faculty member in a moment of vulnerability and was rejected help. Furthermore, knowing that my classmates and peers who did suffer from depression or other mental disorders could be turned away, too, was saddening. Those who do suffer from poor mental health and “experience repeated failures often lose heart and feel victimized themselves” (Jellinek), which only leads to an emotional downward spiral. To openly seek help and be turned away was difficult and disheartening, however, I took it as a motivator to want to better my own mental health, thus giving me a “deeper sense of peace as well as relaxation of the mind and body…Then [I’ll] be geared up to face [my] other tasks’’ (Piedmont). This internal motivation was a result of years of pent up emotions that needed to be analyzed and reflected upon in order to create a healthier, more consistent, and sustainable lifestyle that I could follow through with.

Establishing a routine was a result of my journey in finding ways to better my mental health. Routine for me is familiarity, consistency, structure, and stability. It was part of knowing what I would be doing and when, so I could maximize my downtime. Routine also meant comfort, as I could block certain hours, particularly towards the latter end of the day, to wind down and work strictly on my self care. Moreover, I find “routine” to apply to other parts of my day, such as playing certain songs on repeat or having a “lucky breakfast” on the morning of an exam. While my definition of routine may vary from the traditional dictionary defined definition or from that of my audience, I believe that my routine is the backbone of my day, week, month, and year, as it allows me to approach my days and other conflicts with confidence.

There are many ways for us all to improve our mental health, regardless of whether or not we are clinically diagnosed with a mental health disorder. Such ways include taking breaks, keeping active, and accepting who we are. Taking breaks, whether they range from ten minutes or one hour, allows us to change the pace of a long, exhausting day. By doing so, we give our bodies the time to process, relax, and rejuvenate before tackling our next task. Furthermore, taking breaks prevents burnout and increases focus and concentration. The “workaholic” mentality only results in mental and physical fatigue, thus, taking breaks allows our mind and body to reset. Keeping active also contributes to preventing burnout, as it releases dopamine and serotonin, which is critical to boosting self esteem. Further, the physical benefits from exercise boost confidence, which is essential to how we tackle our days. Consequently, a boost of confidence and self esteem “helps [us] cope when life takes a difficult turn” (Mental Health Foundation). Accepting how different we are from others inhibits the possible detrimental mental health issues that we may feel when we compare our lives to that of our peers and celebrities. Breaks, physical activity, and acceptance of ourselves is critical in the journey to improving mental health.

Personally, I adopted all of these methods of mental health improvement into my routine. I found that “implementing a structure to [my] day…[gave me] a sense of control….[and] improved [my] focus, organization, and productivity” (Cherry). I was able to visually see my schedule, what I needed to get done on that day, and the blocks of time that I was available to take on other projects or assignments. I was also able to block off time with the full intention of putting myself first and taking the time to prioritize my physical and mental wellbeing. For example, by blocking off one hour before my bedtime to wind down, I was able to process my thoughts from the day, reflect, and reorient my focus towards the next day. In turn, I felt less stressed and was able to approach conflicts with a more positive mindset. I feel strongly that having control over establishing my routine has been immensely beneficial for my mental health, especially when entering new environments and facing unprecedented conflicts. The years that I have spent establishing, reorganizing, and perfecting my routine has given me a stronger grasp on taking control over my actions, my behavior, and quite literally, my life. In turn, control has allowed me to connect my priorities and values with meaningful goals that I aspire to accomplish.

My routines give me stability during times of travel, which is critical in helping me adjust to my new environment. After establishing physical activity into my routine, I was able to maximize the enjoyment of my trip to Big Bear in 2020. There, I was able to go on multiple hikes with family and family friends, thus getting much needed Vitamin D and serotonin booster. Since mental health and physical health go hand in hand, it shows how by making time in my routine to stay active, I was reaping several mental health benefits: structure, consistency, and stability. Making a positive association between physical health and mental health, and consistently reinforcing this connection contributed to the improvement in my overall wellbeing.

Additionally, establishing a routine has allowed me to further develop patience and the willingness to branch out of my comfort zone, as discovered in my San Francisco trip. Since my days and to-do list are scheduled by time, I know and trust that all of my obligations and commitments will be done by a certain hour of the day.. Having this newfound patience has allowed me to adapt quickly to changing environments, thus giving me more confidence in my ability to succeed even when under pressure. Further, visually seeing my free time allows me to schedule new activities that piqued my interest. For example, I self taught calligraphy during the downtime I saw in my schedule. Now, calligraphy is a hobby that I find useful, soothing, and relaxing after long days. To be able to recreate fonts and designs allows me to express myself artistically, which is immensely beneficial during times of stress. An established routine gave me the necessary qualities needed to thrive in college and resulted in the development of a hobby that I thoroughly enjoy to this day.

The benefits from routines and methods to improve mental health closely align. With a standard routine, it is possible to set aside certain amounts of time during each day to take breaks or be active. By setting these certain times, we make a conscious effort to put our wellbeing first, which is critical for productivity and stability. Moreover, with routines, we can analyze the different ways we structure our days and discover what works best with our coping mechanisms. Mapping out a schedule does not have to be strict, but rather, a tool for guidance on how we can maximize our twenty four hours productively. Making time for ourselves is possible only if we make full, intentional, conscious efforts to do so.

More transparency about mental health is important since it does play a critical role in our daily lives. It “can affect [our] functioning in school, at home, with [our] friends, and in [our] communities, which in turn may interfere with…successfully attaining key developmental milestones” (Stein). Due to the growing interest surrounding mental health, schools and universities are offering greater access to mental health services for students. This can be beneficial, as identifying these problems at its earliest stages and giving students access to appropriate services would be greatly advantageous to the coping process and making necessary changes to one’s lifestyle. Students could make mental health services a part of their routine, thus developing this sense of stability and comfort as early in their lives as possible, which is critical for destigmatization and coping. Moreover, a study found that mental health promotion programs show “significant increase in social skills and functioning…[and] Also showed results of enhanced social skills and increased levels of positive social behavior” (O’Connor). Evidently, mental health programs bring some positive contributions to the lives of young students.

Seeking professional help as a way to better one’s own mental health is an immensely difficult and challenging task, as it calls for deep self reflection and vulnerability. But I contend that it is up to each person, as an individual, to help themselves as well, by doing personal research on different methods to mental health improvement. As “selfish” as it may sound, we have to take care of ourselves first. We have to be willing, open, and patient to try new coping mechanisms that may or may not work for us. There is no “one size fits all” to coping mechanisms, which means trial and error is the path that we must take. Consistency and motivation to continue trying, even when certain methods fail us, is the key to helping ourselves. Of course, this is all easier said than done, as the journey to bettering mental health is non-linear.

On the contrary, these services may not be sufficient and may actually be more harmful than helpful. For example, some faculty members who run these mental health programs in school settings may be unequipped with the proper knowledge or tools to properly help students. School policies on when these tools and resources can be used by students may result in these programs being unavailable during one’s dire time of need. Further, some individuals may be unwilling to seek or continue seeking help due to a variety of reasons, such as needing parental consent to receive certain mental health services. These obstacles contribute to the mental health issues that we continue to face today.

Correspondingly, America as a country and as an economic superpower has failed its citizens and its people in regards to mental health. To have access to limitless bounds of resources and not culture an environment where its people can be happy is disappointing at best. In fact, America doesn’t even make the top 10 happiest countries in the world. Finland scored first in the World Happiness report, with an average of 8 (on a scale of zero to ten). The U.S.? 6.8. While that may seem like a small difference, thirteen other countries fall in between (i.e. Iceland, Denmark, Switzerland, etc). These countries are not close to matching the GDP of America, which highlights the uniqueness of their culture.

A significant difference lies in the culture, as northern European countries have supportive social networks, universal healthcare, a government they trust, and affordable child care. These specific policies relieve stressors that Americans face on a daily basis, such as the inability to provide for family or the inability to afford basic necessities (food, water, and shelter) if unemployed. These stressors, if longlasting, can be detrimental to one’s mental and physical health. Relieving these stressors shifts the focus to bettering the individual, rather than the individual’s primary focus being on bettering the lives of others. The happiest countries in the world implement longlasting policies that actually bring positive and uplifting effects to their countries and the esteem of their citizens. On a larger scale, America needs to put aside its politics and make necessary adjustments to its policies, if it as a country is going to contribute to the conversation of mental health improvement.

To conclude, there are many avenues one can take during the journey towards bettering mental health. Some avenues lead to blossoming flowers and sunshine, while others may lead to a desert island. But there should be an emphasis placed on exploring multiple avenues. Mental health professionals and health care providers may give suggestions or recommendations, however, these options may not work best for the individual. But that does not mean that the individual is incapable of exploring and researching on their own. Many of my peers suggested journaling, however, I found establishing routines to be my niche. As mentioned before, the path to finding what works for us is easier said than done, but it is very much possible.

Sources

Bradley D. Stein, et al. Interventions to Improve Student Mental Health: A Literature Review to Guide Evaluation of California’s Mental Health Prevention and Early Intervention Initiative. RAND Corporation, 2012, doi:10.7249/j.ctt5hhtng.

Cherry, Kendra. “The Importance of Maintaining Structure and Routine during Stressful Times.” Verywell Mind, Verywell Mind, 26 Apr. 2020, www.verywellmind.com/the-importance-of-keeping-a-routine-during-stressful-times-4802638.

“How to Look after Your Mental Health.” Mental Health Foundation, 4 June 2021, www.mentalhealth.org.uk/publications/how-to-mental-health.

Jellinek, Michael. “A Path Beyond Advocacy to Improve Mental Health Services for Children and Families: Population Health Management.” JAMA Pediatrics, vol. 171, no. 7, American Medical Association, 2017, pp. 615–16, doi:10.1001/jamapediatrics.2017.0216.

O’Connor, Clare A., et al. “Do Universal School‐based Mental Health Promotion Programmes Improve the Mental Health and Emotional Wellbeing of Young People? A Literature Review.” Journal of Clinical Nursing, vol. 27, no. 3–4, WILEY, 2018, pp. e412–e426, doi:10.1111/jocn.14078.

Scott, Kate M., et al., editors. Mental Disorders Around the World: Facts and Figures from the WHO World Mental Health Surveys. Cambridge University Press, 2018.

“Why Routines Are Good for Your Health.” Why Routines Are Really Good for Your Health | Piedmont Healthcare, Piedmont Healthcare, www.piedmont.org/living-better/why-routines-are-good-for-your-health.

“World Happiness Report 2021.” World Happiness Report 2021, worldhappiness.report/ed/2021/.

--

--