WP2: The Perpetuation of Stereotypes in TV Shows

Adithi Prasad
Writing 150
Published in
2 min readOct 15, 2022

Stereotypes, which are sweeping generalizations about a group of people, have existed in our society for decades. I previously explored the framework of the progression of stereotypes through my own identity. Essentially, a generalization creates an assumption in people’s minds which is then translated into unfair treatment of others. This treatment causes the victims of stereotypes to believe that certain identities are incompatible, which further reinforces the stereotype. In this archive, I want to explore the experiences and identities of others, as well as the agent of the media and its role in perpetuating stereotypes.

In the first part, Aidan describes his Jewish identity and how he feels that Jews are not portrayed in a severely negative way in TV shows. In the second part, Haha describes her experience doing theater and how she believes TV shows have reduced the stigma surrounding it. In the third interview, I explain my relationship with being Indian and Hindu and how my earlier experiences were negatively influenced by TV shows.

In creating this project, I wanted to dismantle my own biases regarding other stereotypes, so I chose to investigate stereotypes that I had absolutely no experience with. I did not want to speak for others, so I chose to conduct interviews (hyperlinked in each post) where I could directly capture the voice of my peers. However, I do want to preface that these interviews capture the feelings and experiences of a single person. These pieces of testimony speak to each individual, and they should not be interpreted as the way that everyone in those groups think and feel.

By creating this archive, my goal is to bring light to how other people are affected by stereotypes and how TV shows play a large part in portraying these stereotypes as truth.

Next: Part 1: Aidan and the Jewish Stereotype

Part 2: Haha and the “Theater Kid” Stereotype

Part 3: Myself and the Indian Stereotype

Recognizing the Relationship Between TV and Stereotypes

--

--