WP4: Expanding Horizons, Growth, and Knowledge Through Writing

Sierra Dague
Writing 150
Published in
4 min readMay 7, 2022

I’ve never been a fan of writing papers. In high school, I could write impressive essays– ones to be used as examples for the classes to come. But it was always like pulling tooth and nail to get that finished product. I accepted that writing wasn’t for me in the same way that history and Spanish and countless other classes weren’t for me. I could memorize where commas go, why so many old white men were considered relevant, and the conjugation of different verbs, but I was not going to be happy about it. Yet, Writ150 has changed my outlook. Put most simply, writing has taught me that I like writing. This semester, I used writing to instigate relevant conversations, expand my knowledge and perception of the world, and share that experience with others. I learned that I have something worth contributing to society.

Growing up, I accepted that I would be a math major without a second thought. It was what I enjoyed learning most and I what I was good at. It seemed like the obvious choice. But when it came time for college applications and actually implementing plans for the future, I was hesitant in the decision. With some offense, most math careers seem painfully dull. I didn’t want to be an accountant or an economist. I wanted to help others. I wanted to make the world a better place. When I was talking to a friend about my predicament, I had said “I wish I could be a communications or a gender and sexualities major, but all of the classes would require essays so I’d be miserable.”

Yet even so, math was an isolating field for me. I couldn’t talk about my work because no one understood what the hell I was saying. (Not that I cared to spend my time that way outside of class). I preferred focusing on more pressing issues. Discussing social injustices, our contributions to them, and how to fix it was so much more worthwhile. I didn’t know that this was something that you could expect or want out of a class. All of my previous courses purposely didn’t broach the subject for perhaps sadly obvious reasons.

Writ150 is the first (and so far only) course to provide me with this missing link. Our assigned readings were pieces that I easily engaged with. I loved not only the perspective they provided, but also that of other students who interpreted the text differently. I would walk out of class feeling like I learned something valuable and directly applicable. Overall, the authors were instigating change with their words as it created opportunities for these positive spaces. Many times I connected with their writing in a personal way and felt encouraged to do the same with my own. I’d like to think that my writing this semester is the beginning of that– of my words having the power to provoke knowledge, connection, and conversation.

Further, Writ150 was a safe haven for me to explore my intrapersonal in a constructive way. Never would I have imagined writing almost any of the posts that I did on Medium, let alone for a grade and others to see. I looked deep within myself, found so many words being left unsaid, and was given a space to express them. While it wasn’t always easy to do so, it was empowering. For perhaps the first time in a long while, I had full control over my voice. I was active in my learning experience as I contextualized myself within the topic of conversation.

This was the crucial concept for me when receiving feedback for my work. As I wrote about and explored my intrapersonal, I coincidentally learned more about my writing style as well. I could recognize my strengths and weaknesses in a way that I hadn’t been able to before. Further, it broadened my willingness to accept criticism and revise. Because I cared so deeply about the subject matter, I wanted to say it in the best way possible. I wasn’t making edits for a better grade, I was doing it for myself– which I had never done before.

One of the biggest improvements in my writing that stemmed from this was determining how much of myself to give to the audience. I’m an oversharer at heart. I’ll fill the silences with all of the minor and major details of my life. While I view openness as a strength, it can also leave you fragile when you have nothing left for yourself. The writing projects taught me balance. Rather than being led by my emotions and having my experiences drive the work, I utilized them as a source and a starting point. The more I wrote, the less I found it necessary to display my intrapersonal. I was able to understand/stay in tune with myself while keeping a sense of privacy as I found other journals to pull from.

In doing so, I maximized my overall impact. It sparked conversation both within and outside of review sessions. People told me that they appreciated my writing, felt more knowledgeable because of it, and also shared their own ideas/experiences with me. Writing became synonymous with collaboration as ideas built one off of the other. In the past I had tried and mostly failed to impact others with my work. Either it should have remained in the drafting stages, no one read it, or we were all writing about the same topic (i.e. spending a quarter debating McDonaldization). Yet, I accomplished this goal that I didn’t even realize I’d had. I, even if in a very small way, changed people’s minds for the better.

Never have I felt so encouraged, supported, and proud of my writing. My new goal is to continue this growth onward. I want to write, use it as a tool for knowledge, and continue to connect with others in this way. While originally a disappointing degree requirement, Writ150 opened new doors for me. While math will always remain important in my heart, I no longer feel confined to its expectations nor are essays going to limit my career pathways. I’m happy to announce that I switched to a gender and sexuality studies major this semester. I’ve found my voice and am going to use it in every possible way.

--

--