WP4: My Journey

Morelia Cadenas Gutierrez
Writing 150
Published in
5 min readMay 7, 2023

In middle and high school classrooms, the standard practice is to use a five-paragraph essay outline that requires students to analyze a specific topic, incorporate credible resources to support their professionally written arguments, and organize this information in a certain, step-by-step format. For example, the first body paragraph includes a topic sentence, two sentences including a quote/source, and at least 5 sentences analyzing that source. This format is heavily emphasized and, if completed correctly, is really the only way to earn an A in these spaces. Unfortunately, however, the strict structure of this approach often results in students losing their unique voices and becoming too focused on analysis at the expense of their perspectives. As someone who has experienced this firsthand, I understand how easy it is to fall into the trap of prioritizing analysis over personal expression. Unfortunately, many educational systems fail to encourage emerging generations to use their voices in writing, as professionalism is often perceived as the only way to be taken seriously. However, my experience at USC and being a part of Writing 150 has completely shifted my approach to writing. Instead of writing solely for academic validation and following the traditional essay outline, I prioritize my vision and expressing myself much more.

Many students need more confidence in their abilities to meet traditional writing standards. We are taught from a young age to focus on following rules and playing by the grading scale, which can lead us to view writing solely as a means of achieving a good grade. Naturally, this mindset binds individuals to the actual process of learning and practicing how to communicate personal views in powerful and effective ways. Before Writing 150, I always felt it was necessary to substitute words used in everyday conversations for complex words only known by academic scholars. Whether that meant avoiding contractions or finding synonyms that make me out to be more innovative, I deeply felt that even these tiny details would have a significant impact on the worth of my paper. However, after reading Vershawn Ashanti Young’s article, “Should Writers Use Their Own English?” I realized the beauty of using individualized literary techniques to communicate messages authentically. The reason why people turn away from authenticating their writing is because of the standard language ideology Young explained when he said that “[it] is the belief that there is one set of dominant language rules that stem from a single dominant discourse (like standard English) that all writers and speakers of English must conform to in order to communicate effectively” (Young 224). Whether voiced or inherent, the belief that there is only one accepted language and style of writing hinders writers from actively engaging with their own personalities and using that in their writing practices. When I look back at all of my previous papers, I realize how they lack my voice, passion, and reason for having written about the subjects. For example, in my previous topics, I advocated so much for the Hispanic/Latinx community yet never included any Spanish translations or sayings commonly used by my community. A strategy that connects writers with their target audiences.

In Borderlands: La Frontera, Gloria Anzaldua incorporates Spanish into her writing to recall memories from her childhood and translate common phrases used among the Hispanic community. As I read her work, I found myself relating to having grown up with phrases such as “En la boca cerrada no entran moscas” (Anzaldua 76) and “El Anglo con cara de inocente nos arranco la cara” (Anzaldua 76). As someone who also grew up speaking Spanish and English, Anzaldua’s writing style allowed me to identify with her and see my personality and upbringing reflected in her work. This idea is highlighted by Young when he states, “Everybody mixes the dialect they learn at home with whatever other dialect or language they learn afterward. That’s how we understand accents” (Young 225). Understanding the impact of dialect and incorporating it into my writing has helped me build confidence and embrace my culture and identity. However, it has been challenging to transition into this writing style, as I often feel the need to explain myself and justify why language is such a huge part of my identity. But, I have recognized that each writing characteristic I hold reflects a different aspect of my identity. Therefore, making my unique contributions is just that: unique. Ideas that improve the effectiveness of my writing to encourage readers to also put their personal perspectives and voice into their essays, rather than just focusing on analysis of the topic.

In this reflection I also feel like it’s important to mention my thoughts on what educators could do to help their students find their writing personalities and provide more guidance on balancing analysis with personal expression so that students can effectively communicate their ideas. Something I really appreciated from Professor Dissinger was his approach with guiding us through identifying our portfolio topics. He did this by introducing creative, different essay topics that allowed us, his students, to be flexible and personalize our topics without losing the research or analysis portion. His approach really did narrow our imagination and encourage us to explore different writing styles, specifically, our own. For example, I now aim to use my voice as a mejicana who grew up in California, a first-generation and undocumented student at the University of Southern California, and an ambitious leader with an entrepreneurial mindset in whatever I do so long as it fits with my writing objectives. With these voices, I have grown to see my writing from an external standpoint rather than an internal one. In other words, seeing why it matters to readers and clearly showing what insights I have to offer. All that was simply because I was free from the fear of taking risks and instead embraced myself in my writing. Whether by constructing real solutions to specific problems to communicate the more significant benefits of addressing this minor but worthwhile movement or being more concise with my work. I definitely feel like Writing 150 has helped me focus on the essential details to condense heavy topics into smaller, digestible pieces that ultimately show a deeper understanding of the importance behind the issue that I address. That makes my writing a piece readers can identify with and remember.

Works Cited

Venuti, L. (1995) The Translator’s Invisibility. A History of Translation. Routledge, London. http://dx.doi.org/10.4324/9780203360064

Anzaldúa, Gloria. Borderlands = La Frontera : The New Mestiza. San Francisco, Spinsters/Aunt Lute, 1987.

--

--