Writing Post #3 Antihero

Ashley Kilmnick
2 min readDec 4, 2022

--

If one were to look at my spotify history they would see Taylor Swift’s new song “Antihero” on repeat one too many times. When I start to listen to a song a lot it’s usually because I resonate with the lyrics at that time in my life. Right now I strongly relate to the themes portrayed in this song and in her new Midnights Album and believe that the song is really impactful in that it shows people that they are not alone in their struggles.

The song begins with an important line: “I have this thing where I get older, but just never wiser. This line immediately drew me into the song because I too share this feeling. It’s commonly believed that as people age they essentially gain more knowledge and wisdom. However, I feel quite the opposite. I often feel like I’m drowning in this new world of living on my own and navigating college. I feel like I know nothing and everything at the same time, which is a struggle too many college students understand.

The song then jumps into the chorus repeating the line “It’s me, hi I’m the problem it’s me, “ which I feel is probably the most relatable line in the song. It’s very easy to get in your head and believe that you are the problem. I sometimes believe that my flaws will one day push people away and become too much. Swift shows people that they aren’t alone in their struggles. Oftentimes it’s hard to believe that people as idolized as Taylor Swift feel insecure like everyone else, but this song serves as Swift’s reminder that she too can struggle with the same insecurities. By shedding light on her struggles, Swift helps to break down common stereotypes and beliefs that people who look a certain way or have a certain status in society don’t struggle like everyone else. In reality, everyone struggles with the same things on the inside and this song serves as a powerful reminder of that.

Another line in the song I found to be very powerful is “Sometimes I feel like everybody is a sexy baby, and I’m a monster on the hill.” This line is really powerful in bringing forth ideas about body image issues. The line is a metaphor in that oftentimes Swift feels like she’s the ugly duckling in the group whereas everyone else is conventionally attractive. This line is very powerful as it shows how everyone often feels like they are out of place when in reality everyone shares this feeling. A once again powerful reminder from Swift to listeners that they are not alone.

--

--