WP4: Self Reflection

Theo Bravos
Writing 340
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2024

I have never considered myself a fantastic writer sometimes, I question whether I was even “good” at writing. In high school and even in Writ 150, my parents and sister would help me constantly. However, this class has drastically changed and been a life-changing journey, helping me develop the skills to implement a multimodal approach to my writing and dig deeper into my jumbled and unorganized thoughts. The motivation and constant advice to go more in-depth have led me to uncover not just my writing but also my experiences as a walk-on and even myself.

I know my approach to writing was straightforward and even one-dimensional. I found it difficult to convey emotions and passion through writing. The multimodal process was new to me and I felt it enhanced my work in every way imaginable. I was finally able to get that emotion through in my first podcast and surveys I conducted. I cared a lot more and I care about what I wrote for the first time ever. The multimodal method made my messages more clear and backed up my findings with cold, hard, and clear evidence. I have come to the realization that my writing can be way past one-dimensional and its awesome.

This class has helped me develop new abilities in reading and writing. Writing posts and reading works by Tim Z. Hernandez and Paulo Freire helped me view my writing projects and experiences from a new angle. These authors and assignments helped add that depth and motivated me to peel back all the layers not just in my writing projects, but also in obtaining a deeper understanding of all literary works. The class discussions about identity and overcoming challenges made me think about my struggles as a walk-on in a new way, which also made me miss playing the sport. Their ideas and writing styles encouraged and motivated me to speak up and fight against the unfair treatment walk-on athletes often receive.

Not only did I learn about the lack of care that the NCAA and Collegiate programs have for their athletes, or “products,” but I also hoped to have informed and taught my readers about the different struggles of being an athlete in college. I hope I addressed the mental health issues we all face when it comes to being a student-athlete. The only thing I learned about myself is how much I miss playing the sport. I miss the brotherhood and having a structured schedule; though it may be rigorous and daunting, it changed me and helped me become a better person at the end of it all.

I went into writing 340 not knowing what I wanted to write about. When I concluded that I wanted to centralize my papers on being a walk-on, I felt I didn’t expect to have much to write about other than me whining and complaining about not getting gear one time. I lived the experience firsthand. I know everything there is to know about being a walk-on and the treatment. I felt there was no way I would find things I didn’t already know, which was very ignorant of me.

Little did I know, this whole class has helped me with my “love-hate” relationship with USC Football. I have been able to accept my time is over, and also be grateful for the experiences and friendships I have made on and off the field. My stories and projects from the walk-on perspective are not just my biased experiences because I was consistently pushed to find something out about myself and the experiences of everyone in athletics.

There needs to be a voice for walk-ons in this sports world and I found that out through my constant writing and digging to find “more.” There needs to be someone who speaks out against the mistreatment of these athletes. This class has given me the ability to develop that voice. Instead of complaining about it, I want to take action now. I know what I want the future of walk-ons to look like, I don’t want them to go through those grueling years not seeing light at the end of the tunnel. This goes for all athletes as well. I want the voice to make people realize how serious mental health issues are in college sports.

I have already taken action, having conversations with even more walk-ons inside and outside of USC to understand what they want changed and the steps that can be taken. The idea of continuing my podcast from the first writing project seems to have started becoming a reality as I have made a few more episodes with other athletes and friends who want to share their “two cents” and their experiences.

This has been one of my favorite classes at USC. I looked forward to joining every day that I could, even if it was on zoom, because of the discussions and I felt I would obtain a new viewpoint or perspective on any matter in the world. Writ 340 has not only made me a better writer, but it has also helped me think on a new level and develop a better understanding of my thoughts and the situations I am currently living in. As I move forward in my academic journey and past this class, I’m committed and grateful to be now using what I’ve learned to help other walk-on athletes like me. I knew it was important before, but now I see how much sharing your story can impact the future of walk-ons.

There is a clear correlation between my journey in this class and my journey as a walk-on. No, I am not saying this class is a miserable experience with hardships (besides waking up at 7:45 am). The relation is through both this class and football having a bittersweet ending that helped me through a rough time in my life and once again, I am forever grateful for that.

Work Cited

Bravos, Theo. “WP1: Walking On.” Writing 340, 4 Feb. 2024.

Bravos, Theo. “WP2: A Deeper Understanding of Walk-ons.” Writing 340, 8 Mar. 2024.

Bravos, Theo. “WP3: How bad can being a walk-on (or college athlete) be?” Writing 340, 14 Apr. 2024.

--

--