WP4: The Semester in Review

Katie Harrington
Writing 340
Published in
5 min readDec 5, 2023

As I approach my final semester of college, it is an opportune moment to reflect on the transformative journey I’ve undertaken as a writer. This paper aims to explore the significant milestones, challenges faced, and the overall evolution of my writing skills over the past semester. From conquering initial apprehensions to embracing new techniques, this journey has been both challenging and rewarding, ultimately shaping me into a more confident and competent writer. In the initial weeks of this class, I found myself facing a myriad of apprehensions. The blank page, once inviting, seemed intimidating. The fear of judgment and self-doubt lingered over my shoulder as I struggled to articulate my thoughts effectively. However, it was precisely in confronting these fears that the seeds of growth were sown.

One of the earliest lessons I learned was the importance of embracing vulnerability in writing, particularly when trying to tackle WP1. Whether it was sharing personal experiences or delving into complex topics, allowing myself to be open and authentic on the page became a catalyst for improvement and allowed me to fully explore my topic in a more emotionally impactful way for the reader. By being vulnerable and adding the personal anecdote to my WP1, it allowed my argument, and the similar papers to follow, to be that much more meaningful.

As the weeks progressed, I began to discern the emergence of a distinct voice in my writing. The class encouraged experimentation with various styles, genres, and tones, pushing me to step out of my comfort zone. I really enjoyed how there was never a restricting prompt to any of our assignments, but rather just guidelines to assist us in discovering who we are as a writer and what we wish to bring to the table. Discovering my voice wasn’t a linear process but a journey of trial and error. Through experimentation, I found that my writing resonated most authentically when I embraced a conversational tone, understanding that there are two sides to every story and although people might disagree with my arguments, staying true to my thoughts on the subject of global cultural awareness allowed my personality to shine through the words. This realization marked a turning point, as I began to approach writing not as a mere task but as a means of self-expression.

One of the most significant revelations during this writing journey was the transformative power of revision. Initially viewing the revision process as a tedious chore, I soon came to appreciate it as a crucial tool for refining and polishing my work. I tend to tackle my papers by sitting down and just writing, allowing my thoughts to flow naturally without the extra steps of outlining. Although this technique allows my voice to really shine through, it often leaves room for a lack of cohesiveness and loss of my trains of thought, so each draft became an opportunity to chisel away the rough edges, sculpting a more polished and cohesive narrative. The revision also taught me the importance of distance from my own work. Stepping back allowed me to approach my writing with fresh eyes, enabling me to identify areas for improvement that were initially overlooked. This newfound appreciation for the revision process not only elevated the quality of my writing but instilled a sense of discipline and patience in my approach.

Receiving feedback, both constructive and critical, played a pivotal role in my growth as a writer. Initially, the prospect of having my work scrutinized was daunting, but I soon recognized that constructive criticism was an invaluable resource for improvement. Engaging with feedback from peers and instructors became a collaborative process, fostering a sense of community within the class. Learning to navigate and implement feedback effectively required a shift in perspective. Instead of viewing critiques as a reflection of my abilities, I began to see them as opportunities for refinement. This shift in mindset not only strengthened my resilience but also honed my ability to discern between subjective opinions and objective suggestions for improvement.

This writing class encouraged exploration across various genres, prompting me to venture beyond my literary comfort zone. Many writing classes I have taken in the past required us to stick to a specific format, word count, and style of our writing, not allowing much room for creativity. From classic written essays to options for multi-modal work such as the cooking videos I made for my WP2, each genre presented its own set of challenges and rewards. This diversity not only expanded my writing repertoire but also cultivated adaptability and versatility in my approach to different styles of writing and presenting my ideas in a less-conventional way.

One of the enduring lessons from the writing class was the delicate balance between structure and expression. While the importance of adhering to conventional writing norms was emphasized, the class also encouraged the infusion of creativity and individuality into each piece which I greatly enjoyed. Oftentimes, being stuck to only writing long papers, just black text on a white screen, can get boring and tedious, removing all passion and inspiration from my work and shifting it more to a required task. This balance became a dynamic interplay, from more traditional papers for my WP1 and WP3 to stepping out of my comfort zone to produce videos for my WP2, allowing me to harness the power of structure while preserving the authenticity of my voice. Embracing creativity meant challenging traditional notions and experimenting with unconventional approaches. Whether through vivid imagery, metaphorical language, or unconventional narrative structures, I discovered that pushing the boundaries of conventional writing norms could yield compelling results. This newfound balance not only enhanced the impact of my writing but also instilled a sense of joy and fulfillment in the creative process.

As I reflect on the past semester of this writing class, the growth and evolution are evident. From overcoming initial apprehensions to embracing creativity and constructive criticism, the journey has been transformative. Writing is no longer a daunting task but a medium through which I can express myself authentically and connect with others. This milestone of getting through the infamous WRIT 340 is not an endpoint but a stepping stone in an ongoing journey of self-discovery and improvement. The lessons learned, skills acquired, and challenges faced have laid a sturdy foundation for future endeavors. Armed with a newfound confidence and a deeper appreciation for the craft, I look forward to my continued growth and refinement that lie ahead on my never-ending writing journey in the “real world”.

--

--