3 Best Podcast Apps That Are More Helpful Than Spotify

How you can find better podcast content than Joe Rogan

Quiet Cacophony
Writing and Life

--

What are the best podcast apps? Spotify, Apple, and Google aren’t cutting it
Image by author

There are 1,750,000 podcasts in the world, yet Spotify keeps recommending Joe Rogan. But I don’t want to listen to this same shit. We’re in the year 2021. Then why don’t we have a better podcast app than Apple or Google Podcasts? How can I find an enjoyable podcast? Also, how can I find the best podcast app?

My discontentment has lead me to uncover great things for you. I went down the rabbit hole and found all kinds of cool stuff:

  • Sites that transcribe podcasts and lets you search for specific words and phrases.
  • Apps that act like IMDB, where you can see your favorite people and find wherever they show up as guests on podcasts.
  • Cliffnotes-like content summarizing podcasts, saving you time from listening to hours of talk in exchange for a bullet list of takeaways.
  • Kid-friendly podcast apps that tell stories, play music, and help calm.

Finding the best podcast apps

Most modern podcast apps are junk. They have a directory, a terrible search, and random lists. New users, like me, are overwhelmed by the number of podcasts versus the ability to find content. Instead, they…

--

--