My Feedback After 2018 Writing Challenge

Youness
Writing Blog — 2018
3 min readJan 1, 2019

Inventory of what I did and learnt during one year or writing.

Photo by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash

A year ago, I made a resolution to write as many posts as I can in Medium.

Today, I want to share my conclusions about this experience.

But first of all, why did I decide to do that?

Why doing writing challenge

Because I felt the need to share my ideas with new persons, since my relatives and friends weren’t concerned, interested or available to talk about them.

After long years at school and then work, I found myself alone.

I don’t mean that I live alone, fortunately I have a family, and my best friends that I kept in touch with even if the distance separates us.

What I mean is that we don’t share anymore the same interests, depending on what life gives you or takes from you, your path diverge and become unique and far from your people, and that’s what happened to me.

That said, writing on Medium was one among other solutions.

One other solution was to create my own network for professional topics, at dedicated places like LinkedIn, Meetup…etc.

Another solution was to discuss openly on social media like Twitter, but since it is more a war zone than a zen room, I tend to not use it less and less.

Facebook was also a mess, maybe it is just about my contacts, but people there don’t write anymore, they prefer to like and share with no more added value.

So you can see my need to find another place to talk and get feedback.

Objective result

During 2018, I wrote 25 posts as follow:

Compared to previous years:

  • 2017: 8 posts.
  • 2016: 1 post.
  • 2015: 0 post.

Math says that it is 25x better than 2016, and 3x better than 2017.

My Best Posts (By Numbers)

Some of my posts went “viral”, especially the ones talking about Medium:

Stats of my posts

For a writer like me, more than hundreds of reads is something huge, not talking about the discussions raised below the two posts, I learnt a lot about this platform and what people like about it and want to see on it.

I’m not (yet) a writer

I think that I’m far from being a regular writer as I thought, I may write 9 posts in a month, but my realistic number is more 1 post than 9.

I don’t give up, but I want to focus more on things that I’m good at.

What know?

I think that making a similar resolution in 2019 will not change a lot, but now I feel myself more comfortable while writing than before, and this is alone is a skill that worth doing this challenge at least one time.

Maybe I’ll try to make 25 of something else.
25 videos? 25 podcasts? 25 travels?

--

--