Organizing My Life: First Notes

Youness
Writing Blog — 2018
2 min readMay 13, 2018

Some observations about my organization experience.

“A pencil on top of an open notebook” by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

Previous story: How I’m Trying To Organize My Life

In the previous story, I explained why I’m organizing my life, but I didn’t write a lot about how I’m planning to do it. I think that this is a data-driven process, and I’ll figure out what to do during the journey.

In this story, I’ll share my first notes that I met in the first days and weeks.

Keep it (Really) Simple

Everything I’m doing should be easy to re-do again and again, otherwise I’ll drop it after some days. For example I’m taking all my notes with a pen and paper, I have them on me everywhere, and they don’t show any distraction.

I notice that it is really strange nowadays to see someone taking notes on a paper in the street, but you can’t choose where good ideas will hit you.

Be Prepared For Anything

This is not an easy experience, I have to be prepared to know bad things about myself and my life, like the fact that I waste my time, or that I’m giving people, things anev events values that they don’t deserve, I’m ready for all the lessons.

The aim is not to stop at knowing the bad things, but to find how to overcome them, no time for self-flagellation or regrets.

Don’t Try To Correct On-The-Fly

When I’m recording my bad habits, I am tempted to correct them, but I shall not do that, if I want to have a good analysis, so if I want to browse my phone, I just let myself take it and record it.

If I find myself trying to correct a behavior, I put stars on it as it is something that I know that it shall be changed, but not during my preparation.

Do One Thing at a Time

Just like said above about focusing only on observations, I need also to focus on one issue at a time. I listed four: Time, space, money and stuff, but I’ll not treat all of them at once. I think that the best one to start with is time, since it is the item that impacts all the others.

That’s all for the moment, I’ll update this story if I have new ideas.

--

--