The Best Gift For My Kid: Watch

Youness
Writing Blog — 2018
2 min readMar 16, 2018

It is also the cheapest one.

I was born in the end of 80', just before that Casio released its famous F-91W.

Meeting again my beloved watch, never gets old.

I can’t tell you how many ones my parents bought me, but I can tell when.

It was every time we went to countryside, by bus, from the sellers that were at stops showing stuff like food, jewelry, cigarettes, and watches.

They were cheap and never original Casio, maybe Cosio or Cazio.

The counterfeit watches couldn’t survive three months of school vacation and extreme conditions that a child is going trough: Water, heat, falls and fights.

But I remember that I liked my watch. It was my first own gadget.

I liked its options, the calendar, the stopwatch, and especially the backlight.
It told me when I could go out, and when I had to go back home.
It told me when vacation was over.
And also who was the fastest guy.

The first thing that I really want to give to my son is a watch, not only to teach him the value of time, but also the value of organization and preparation.

He will know that dates are important, and meetings shall be honored.
He will know that days never go back, and that he should fulfill each one.

After that, I’ll buy him the second best gift: Radio.
But that’s another story for another time.

And you, what gift do you want to give to your kids? And why?

--

--