I Know My Game Ain’t That Bad

Koku Asamoah
WRITING BOYS
Published in
10 min readFeb 25, 2022

I like to think that I’m an easy person to talk to; I’m, for the most part, quick-witted, I enjoy having meaningful discourse, and I genuinely am interested in engaging in conversations. But when it comes to spitting game, I can confidently say I have zero. And this is not me being self-deprecating or on my sad boy soapbox; It’s just a skill that I don’t have. There are artists whose careers center around spitting game to women in Hip-Hop. Artists like LL Cool J, Anderson Paak., and Biggie have some of the smoothest lines out there. Like on ‘Big Poppa,’ Biggie says.

Soon as he buy that wine, I just creep up from behind (That’s right)

And ask you what your interests are, who you be with

Things that make you smile, what numbers to dial

You gon’ be here for a while? I’m gon’ go call my crew, you go call your crew

We can rendezvous at the bar around 2 (Come on)

It’s just so damn cool and effortless that artists like Biggie can glide across a track while explaining how they approach women. I would legit take mental notes and try to apply them in real-life scenarios but only end up feeling like I sounded like Spongebob when he said, “Hi, How are ya” and chicken out.

Mainly since spitting game primarily consists of overly bolstering yourself to superficial standards, I never felt comfortable doing that. There’s this Childish Gambino line I love off of his EP, ‘EP’ on the track ‘Lights Turned On’ where he says.

Small chick with a fat ass

Did I say that out loud? Let me back track

I know my game ain’t that bad

Have you ever made out with a Gap ad?

Him just fumbling approaching a woman for the first time and trying to catch himself by throwing his celebrity status out to catch his slip up. It’s a funny line that shows that the act of spitting game is challenging, its skill that requires nuance, confidence, and the willingness to bend the truth, to an extent. Which I had none of, probably still don’t, but that’s okay! Because I learned that you don’t have to spit game to every girl you see. Just getting to know someone is just as lovely.

As I said, I’m not here to complain about how I don’t have game. Honestly, I’m advocating that you don’t need game. Even though I think It’s so slick and smooth to have, it’s okay just approaching someone with honesty with no intentions other than to strike a conversation. And I feel like artists like Blu have the same sense when it comes to talking to women.

My introduction to Blu was on his debut studio album ‘Below The Heavens,’ this project came out in 2007, but I didn’t get the chance to hear it until its fifth anniversary in 2012. By this time, I was 16 years old and in high school surrounded by overzealous teens who had countless stories of girls they “smashed” or wanted to “smash.” With the majority of mainstream music reflecting the same sentiment. So coming across ‘Below The Heavens’ was a well-needed breath of fresh air that was clouded by some of the monotonous songs I would hear on the radio every day.

Exile does the production was reminiscent of Dilla’s ‘Donuts’ with a mix of 9th Wonder drums on Little Brother’s ‘Minstrel Show’ with a slight addition of DJ Premier’s keen eye for vocal chops on “Illmatic.” The beats on this album move by themselves; even if there weren’t an emcee on any of these tracks, there would be so much to take from it on just the instrumental only. And that’s not to say Blu slacked in any way on this album. Blu was able to take concepts of what the average Hip-Hop would be going through and create thoughtful, fun, and lyrical dense songs. One of my favorite ways that he brought it all together was on the track “First Things First.”

The song starts with a chorus sung by Miguel early on in his career. With ad-libs accenting each line by Blu.

First things first

Ain’t tryna game you up so girl I’ll be straight

First things first

Don’t want to mess it up before it’s too late

First things first

My name is… It’s young Blu

And you are? Okay

I’d like to get to know you if it’s okay

Ayo, tell me what I’m s’posed to do

Ayo, tell me what I’m s’posed to do

First things first

You gotta tell me what I’m s’posed to do

Let me know just what I’m s’posed to do

First things first

My name is… It’s young Blu

And you are? Okay

I’d like to get to know you if it’s okay

The chorus is so earnest that it conjures up a “Meet Cute” scenario in my mind. You’re at a coffee shop, and the barista you’ve had a crush on for months is working, and you see your chance (I’m projecting right here), so you walk up to her to tell her how you feel. No games, no gimmicks, just wanting to get to know her beyond the superficial. But before you can even do that, you have to psych yourself up, which is where the first verse starts.

See it’s so many ways I can approach you

I can either start off like, ‘’scuse me miss’, but shit that’s too old school

And I can flow to you but that’s too cliche

Plus I don’t bust to bust nuts, I bust over beat breaks

I could be honest with you and tell you I’m a cheapskate

But, you probably seen me sharing drinks with my DJ

So, fronting like I got chips is out the question

And acting like my Benz is in the shop is outdated

And I ain’t into playing games

Plus I already hate them fake ballers that be always dropping names

And yeah I’m in the game but if I say I rap

You’ll be looking for my range, gold chains, and my strap

Modern dating life has negated the need for a clever pick line due to dating apps with prompts that give you a chance to start the conversation with a witty response to their bio. But if you dare to be brave enough to approach someone beyond the veil of a screen, Blu gives the most accurate description of what goes through most people’s heads. From questioning how to start the conversation to wondering if he should even mention his profession, he risks the chance that she would look for his Benz and flashy jewelry. He even debates just telling her he’s a cheapskate to dampen her expectations.

Blu continues to rap.

And I can act conscious, but if we talk politics

You’ll notice that I’m out of the loop, ’cause I don’t follow it

I rock fitted caps, kufis ain’t for Blu, see

I eat red meat ’cause tofu don’t move me

And women are confusing, but that’s for later on

And the only way to tell you is to say it in these songs

Like darling you a doll, don’t confuse it with sexual

But don’t think, I don’t think of having sex with you

I’m trying to get next to you, but you being rude

In the club with ya guns out, shooting down fools

She shot down one, and shot down two

Now tell me what the fuck am I supposed to do

I’ve always found it weird how proudly Blu proclaims he knows nothing about politics in these next bars, but I think I have an explanation using the next few bars as context. Blu is an “underground” conscious rapper, so there’s this conception that they are the stereotypical slam poetry rapper. Like Phonte said

Y’all know them niggas that I’m talkin bout

The ones that y’all be seein at the coffee house

Soon as they get the mic I start walkin out

And swear that they skill the most talked about

It’s time to bring the emcees on

I’m sick of niggas looking bitch trying to read poems

Then try to battle me with sandals and capris on — come on dog

It’s an annoying caricature that Blu tries to separate himself from by distancing himself from those traits they exhibit the most.

Finally, Blu references a KRS-One line off a Boogie Down Production track called “Love’s Gonna Get’cha (Material Love),” where he says

But as we ran, there were the boys in blue

Pointing their guns at my four man crew

They shot down one, they shot down two

Now tell me what the fuck am I supposed to do

But while KRS-One was talking about the police, the girl Blu is referring to is metaphorically turning down other dudes’ advances. This further cements that Blu has yet to speak to this girl and is just watching from the sidelines while contemplating his approach. The following verse kind of lends complexity to the character Blu is, building on the character we see in the first verse.

Now, don’t get it twisted broke niggas need love too

And underground rappers like to chill at the club too

I wanna get buzzed, get drunk and get crunk

Get a chick to kick it with when I’m feeling fucked up

I joke all the time about being a recluse and not wanting to go out, but in reality, It’s so fun just to have a night out. It’s easy to get pigeonholed into a role that seems out of character when you do some of these things. But nah, it’s fun getting a little fucked up if that’s your thing. I know when I decide to step out, it’s seen as a shocker because I usually paint myself as a recluse. There was one time I asked a friend, “we should go out and get drinks,” and she said, “That’s a phrase I’d never thought I would hear you say.” Blu goes on to rap

Women be mentioning ya’ whips and your chains

So I flip it like slaves come with whips and chains, we gotta liberate

But before I could mention my name

They be talking to the nigga with the keys to the Range

This shit is so funny to me because Blu tried to steer the conversation in a completely different direction. And I wholeheartedly believe he believes what he’s saying, but I see the conversation playing out like this.

Girl at the bar: So you rap, you must have a car or at least one of those chains I see 50 Cent always wearing.

Blu: You see, my sister, the same things they used to enslave us in the past are the same things that enslave us now! I don’t own a car because…

When rappers show humility, it’s always great to see, and when they can do it in a funny way that highlights the story they are trying to tell, it only makes it that much more enjoyable. Blu goes on to rap about the other men he is competing with within the dating field.

​​But before I could mention my name

They be talking to the nigga with the keys to the Range

And I can’t even compete with these ballers trying to get at you

’Cause I ain’t even got enough cheese to try to match dude

Nor do I got a flat to bring you back to

I know I always thought there were certain things you needed before you could even talk to a girl. In my mind and many others, you need a car, a crib, a good-paying job, know how to parallel park, don’t order dessert at restaurants. Mostly just dumb shit I saw on Twitter that I internalized and expected that I shouldn’t even approach any girl without any of those things. But that’s not true at all; yeah, those things are nice to have, sans the dessert

thing because that was a horrible hot take on Twitter. But acquiring certain things doesn’t necessarily lead to having a fruitful relationship. I love these last couple lines because it’s just Blu being completely honest, and he paints a picture of how enjoyable spending time with him can be,

But, I can roll up a blunt and try to relax you

Probably make you laugh when you mad in a bad mood

And ask a few questions ‘bout caressing your statue

’Cause no, I ain’t got corn rows or hood tattoos

But, I can fuck up any track that I rap too

I, know it’s irrelevant, but rap is my profession

And just cause I’m a gentleman, don’t mean I’m into settling

I spend most my time on the grind, but I ain’t peddling rocks

Or trying to sign to the Roc, I’m trying to meddle in my own business

So tell your girls mind they own business

And I would give you my digits but see my phone isn’t Accepting calls ’til the bills get paid

Now you say you want the real, but it’s the real I’m saying. So what’s the deal?

At this point, Blu finally approaches this girl and tells her what he has to offer. It isn’t as spectacular as what some other dudes have, but it’s the real him. Even ending the verse by saying, “Now you say you want the real, but it’s the real I’m saying. So what’s the deal?”

This song meant a lot to me growing up, I never had “the talk” with my parents, and they never mentioned dating, so I had to learn from what I consumed from the media. Thankfully most of the misogynistic and patriarchal standards set by music and television never stuck on me, so I was more open to hearing different perspectives. So when I came across this song, it was refreshing to hear how honesty can be endearing, and I don’t have to be flashy to approach a woman.

I remember going on a first date a couple of years ago. I was driving around with this girl, and while we were looking for parking, we were passing the aux back and forth playing our favorite songs. I asked her if she had ever heard of Blu, and she said no, so I played this song. I even told her this song got me comfortable being open and honest when talking to girls. It’s a moment of honesty that I probably wouldn’t have been open to sharing with a first date if not for this song. Like I said, having game is cool as hell and an attractive thing to have in some cases. There is a time and place for it, but talking is sometimes the best approach.

--

--