A Self-Deprecating Look at My First Tweets

Feel free to cringe along with me!

Jason Zook
Something I’ve Written
4 min readOct 20, 2016

--

It’s amazing what a few years and bunch of mistakes can do for perspective. This story originated as a post on reflection, but quickly turned into a hilarious look at my previous self. The reflection part of the story was thrown out the window in favor of some commentary on 2008 me.

thank you unsplash.com for the appropriate photo to grab people’s attention!

If you want to find your first tweet, you can use Twitter’s #FirstTweet tool. If you want to find older tweets, get the date from your first tweet and Twitter’s Advanced Search to input your Twitter handle and then the date range you want to laugh at.

Let’s let the self-deprecating journey begin!

I mean… C’mon. I bet your #FirstTweet looks pretty damn similar. Or your tweet is some version of “trying this out” or “I’m twittering!” My first tweet relates to my previous Twitter handle which was @iwearyourshirt. That was a real business, that made real money, by wearing t-shirts for companies. Yep. Internet.

This is a common mistake people STILL make on Twitter and I used to be guilty of it when it was okay to be guilty of it. But, it’s 2016 now. We’re all Twitter-grown-up. You aren’t allowed to be guilty of this anymore.

If you start a tweet with an @ name, it’s essentially a personal conversation that can only be seen by mutual followers between you and the person you @ mention. Still don’t understand? Read this helpful article I googled for you. See, you’re learned some stuff by reading this story too!

Tweeting at celebrities. So 2008. Also, Shaq did NOT write me back, in case you were wondering. The offer is still on the table big fella! #Kazaam4Life

Wow. Talk about life goals, huh? This version of me was probably also keeping track of how many RTs each tweet got. In a spreadsheet. I’m not joking. And no, I don’t still have that spreadsheet… because… embarrassingly awful.

Vague tweet alert! Vague tweet alert! Vague tweet alert!

I’m mad at my 2008 self for this. Jason, explain this to the world. Why on Earth was this worth typing into the Internet and sharing with other people?? Why you do this!? Ugh.

I just. I can’t.

I can’t with myself on this one. Screaming for attention? Did I have any actual friends/followers/family members in 2008??? Good thing I tossed in the note about checking my emails :barf-emoji:

(Also, I checked my emails today!)

You’re on the edge of your seat aren’t you? WHAT IS THE VIDEO STUFF!?

Man. I just apologize.

Douche tweet alert! Douche tweet alert! Douche tweet alert!

Woof.

Truthfully, I think you can thank me for this one now that I look back on it. This was obviously the tweet that brought Jon Favreau to Twitter. Like, someone on his team saw this, showed it to him on his iPhone 3G, and he said “this Jason guy is right! I am interesting and I do need to join Twitter today!”

You’re welcome.

Because I can’t read a single additional tweet from my former self, I’m wrapping this up with that last gem.

Hope enjoyed this silliness and you’ll take a look at your first tweets and have a laugh. Feel free to share a link to your #FirstTweet as a response below… if you dare ;)

ps — if you were wondering about the super weird last name (Headsetsdotcom), that was actually done later (2013) but the search results had that last name for some reason.

--

--