Circulating the City: Public Pop-Up Promotion

AndyZ123
Writing Chicago
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2019

In preparation for our collective pop-up museum exhibit, I took a number of steps to ensure proper circulation of the materials we created to advertise the exhibit as well as my own progress and work for my contribution. Primarily, I began promoting the exhibit by posting our finalized flyers in various locations in the loop campus downtown. I tried to spread them out as much as possible, posting some on the 11th floor of the DePaul center, a couple more in the Lewis building, and one more in the 14 E. Jackson building. Hopefully, strategically spreading these flyers across the various loop buildings created maximum exposure leading up to the event.

In addition to spreading the flyers around the loop campus, I also aimed to spread the word for our pop-up museum by word of mouth, inviting close friends and people from different rings of involvement to join us at the event. I reached out to my social fraternity, Phi Gamma Delta, to inspire members to attend through the incentive of free meats and cheeses, but to little success. However, I was able to get my girlfriend to attend under such incentives, so I generally consider the process to have been a success. I also posted a number of social media advertisements on Facebook and Twitter to try and engage my digital audience to attend the event. Although the posts have since been deleted following the completion of the quarter, I still have some images of my in-progress project and other parts of my contribution that I used to encourage attendance and hopefully spark some interest in the event overall.

--

--