Circulation of the Pop-Up Museum

Thomas
Writing Chicago
Published in
3 min readMar 25, 2019

To help circulate and promote the pop-up museum, I placed the posters promoting the event up on the boards around the student center, as well as on the first floor of the Student Academic Center. The posters went up in places that had a rather high amount of traffic, however they were also surrounded by many other posters and announcements as well. One of the boards was recently cleaned up however, so it was significantly less crowded than the others. I felt that it was best to place these posters on the board, as it gave the greatest chance for other DePaul students to see it.

A social media post from me would mostly show the poster to those who live in other states or go to different universities. I did also discuss the email that was sent out to other WRD students and staff in one of my other classes. I think this was more effective as it helped bring more attention to the event than flyers, and I was able to provide more information on what the event was about. Speaking about the event to people also allowed for people to understand that the class was a capstone, and that they might end up taking it themselves. I can’t say for sure how much traffic it brought to the event, but I do think it at least got people interested in what it was. I also felt that inviting people to come in person made it less daunting, some may have felt that the topics were something that they would not understand, or that the event was not for them altogether. Speaking to them about the museum and what it was, allowed for me to break down what it was all about and what we were trying to do with it. I think this made it seem a lot less intimidating, as the flyer provided information on where and when it was happening, but may not have explained the “what” in enough detail to give people an idea of what to expect.

I believe the email was quite effective in elaborating on what the event was all about as it did get some attention, and was able to reach people directly which increased the likelihood that they would engage with it, as the flyers required them to engage first, which is difficult with all the other flyers around. Being able to discuss the event made it easier to at least bring it to people’s attention and having them be aware of what the museum is. I was able to elaborate and bring the fact that they might be taking the class themselves, to their attention, which I feel was helpful in getting their attention.

--

--