Joe Weiss
Writing Chicago
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

I decided to make a poster for the pop-up museum. I did a poster because I don’t think anyone would want to read a newsletter. My theory is the wordier an advertisement is, the less likely someone is to read it. I chose the name “The Other Side of Chicago” for the pop-up museum because it made it sound mysterious. It suggests that there is a hidden part of Chicago that the audience does not know about unless they come to our pop-up museum. I also chose the paintbrush font because to me it implied creativity. It also suggested a level of fun that I feel a pop-up museum ad needs to envoke in order to get people to come. I made this poster for a DePaul audience, so that is why I did not explain what the SAC was or anything like that. The poster is light on concrete details like exhibits or what the pop-up museum is about other than Chicago. I did this because I did not think more information would attract people. If the current information on this poster does not make them interested, then I doubt adding more information would. Overall I used a minimalist style in order to attract the audiences’ attention. I did this, because if it was meant for a DePaul student then it would be put up on the bulletin boards around campus, and as we have learned from Delaney’s research these bulletin boards are rarely interacted with. I thought a minimalistic style might help attract attention.

--

--