Promotion for “Public Text: A Gallery by WRD 390”

James Langford
Writing Chicago
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

For our event, I’ll be creating one graphic composition that can be morphed into a post for every social media platform (twitter, IG, Facebook), an Instagram story and a physical flyer. I’ll create text and a graphic that will sit in one portion of an image and based on cropping will fit different needs.

I want the composition to reach the eyes of rhetoric students and art fans alike. I’ll post them on campus in places frequented by these demographics: SAC floor 3, DePaul art museum, and the idea labs in the library and downtown at 14 e. Jackson. Some human actors that might facilitate circulation along these routes include social media users that go out of their way to repost the flyer and the DePaul administration for approving my flyer.

A nonhuman actor would be hashtags like #DePaulWRD #DePaulart #DepaulBound that automatically circulate posts online to the target audience. I’m going to place the text on a photo of the SAC to catch viewers eyes, displaying something they might not have otherwise thought was possible. I kept text minimal & large to stand out amongst all of the other flyers that get posted on campus.

Being an advertisement for a WRD event that doesn’t align itself with any kind of corporation or entity outside of the department, the risks for misappropriation in this flyer are limited. The main one would be that the administration could think that I’m advocating for vandalization of school buildings. Another liability that comes along with the publicization of any event is attracting unwanted visitors. I don’t worry about this document being misappropriated, but I can limit readers ability to do so by staying clear of any graphic design choices that may align the event to undesirable entities. I also know that by going through the school to gain approval to post the flyer, they will express their opinion on it through their decision to approve or deny it.

Flyer for instagram story usage

--

--