Writing Efficiently

Joe Weiss
Writing Chicago
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2019

My social media posts were done on Instagram and Snapchat. I decided my picture would be of a blank google drive doc. While this is a rather uninspired picture, I feel it best summarizes my writing process. My writing process (particularly for school) is about dumping as many words onto the page as I can until I hit whatever the requirement is. Because of this, the empty page is the ultimate enemy of my writing process. My writing process goes by the mantra that anything on the page is better than nothing.

The circulation of the Instagram post comes in the way of likes and comments. The two comments on it so far are jokes meant to ridicule me, because my Instagram followers do not care about my writing process. The interaction with my snapchat post has only come in the way of views. I chose to write the posts in the way I did because I think every student can relate to the feelings expressed in my post. To most students, writing is not a process, but a job that needs to get done. While this is not the way to produce the best papers for class, it is the way to finish your work as efficiently as possible, and in reality I think that is what writing is to most students.

--

--