Writing Process Take 2

Delaney Morrison
Writing Chicago
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2019

For this week’s experience and experiment, I took a photo of what I was working on for our final pop-up museum. I had started a list of who to email and examined the notes that we had compiled thus far so I had those two windows pulled up for my photo. I shared the photo on Twitter and on Instagram, both with different text due to different audiences and because my twitter is much different than my Instagram.

This is a screenshot of my Instagram post

I chose to once again try to disguise this post that way it blended into my overall Instagram feed more than explicitly talking about how this was for an assignment. I have a feeling the interactions would be much different if I had explicitly named that I was making this post for a class. By talking about how finals are starting to make my life a mess, I was hoping to connect with others who are also starting to feel the pressures of the quarter system. I used my new favorite emoji because it accurately describes my current state of being. The text I chose when describing what was in the image briefly explained what the project is and who is involved without being over the top. This image received about the same amount of traction as my last post for this class — and I once again included my tea because it is integral to my writing process.

Screenshot of the tweet analytics from my tweet for this project

My tweet for this project was more playful and easygoing since my twitter tends to be that way. I talk a lot about the quirks in the program on twitter so this type of language is about what my followers would expect (I assume). I used the same photo as on Instagram, mainly because I only took one photo of this scenario, there was not really a rhetorical choice made there. Since most of my twitter followers are not DePaul students (and my Instagram has a lot more of them) I tried to keep it slightly more vague and accessible by not naming the department and all of that.

Overall this went about the same as my last post about my writing process and I did not really learn or experience anything new.

--

--