Flying Transavia? Get Ready to Change Your Mind

Becky Wicks
Traveling Inwards
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2022

Transavia is going rogue with its menu

Look out for the french fries on Transavia
Photo by Fernanda Martinez on Unsplash

I love a good flight. I’ll go anywhere. Just sit me down and serve me wine and take me somewhere new.

I might get a bit of turbulence here and there. A screaming baby in my ear. A seat-jerker in front who threatens to ruin my Harry Potter marathon.

But unless I’m a sweaty Betty, en route from somewhere humid, I know I won't leave that plane smelling worse than when I boarded.

Until now.

Transavia plans to serve french fries on board.

Yes, chips.

Fries will be available for all peckish passengers on all Transavia flights from Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Eindhoven and Brussels from 10th March, 2022.

“I am very curious what the passengers will think about it,” says Laura Heijmann, the person responsible for the upcoming in-flight snack. “It is a snack that is attractive to a large target group.”

You’re not wrong, Laura. But your target group is also used to lining up outside the chippy, letting the wind blow the greasy stench off their clothes before it can fester in the fabric.

They’re not used to sitting amongst the fumes from your deep fat fryer on a one-way, three hour flight from Amsterdam.

It’s not just the smell, though.

People can’t be trusted with menu items like this, Laura. Have you seen the mess your drunk/stoned target group makes already, with their endless cans of Heineken and pot noodles?

People aren’t right in the head when they leave Amsterdam. They’re going to smear greasy chips and mayonnaise on your pristine plush green seats, Laura.

Someone is going to open a window.

It’s worth noting that Transavia isn’t the first Dutch company to serve fries on an airplane. Corendon did the same in 2016, but stopped a year later. We don’t know why, exactly.

They cited something to do with waste management, but I have my doubts. It’s more likely that the staff just got sick and tired of scrubbing mayonnaise smears off the windows, and coming home from their shifts smelling like a chip shop.

Would you order fries on a Transavia flight? Would smelling them in the sky put you off?

I suppose we’ll wait and see.

--

--

Becky Wicks
Traveling Inwards

Harlequin/HarperCollins author, ex-travel writer & copywriter. Writes about writing, psychedelics and expat life in Amsterdam. Editor of Traveling Inwards.