Why Moving to Amsterdam Made Me A Better Brit

Becky Wicks
Traveling Inwards
Published in
5 min readFeb 1, 2022

And it’s nothing to do with the weed

Cycling in Amsterdam
Me and my trusty steed

Moving to Amsterdam made me fitter

Yes, fitter. And being fitter makes me feel better — surprise! In Britain, I wasn’t healthy, you see. Apart from being repulsed by the idea of sweating unnecessarily, I was a “ready meal for one” kinda girl.

A “whatever’s on special offer at TESCO” kinda person.

A “slump on the couch with my laptop till I need a wee, then repeat,” kind of human.

Not that I didn’t do a lot before moving to Amsterdam. I tried to be healthier in loads of other places.

Once in Sydney, in my mid-20s, I joined a yoga studio for $350 a year and went once. There always seemed to be some excuse not to go; usually, one that involved wine.

In New York I spent close to $600 and went to maybe… four classes.

In Dubai I looked at the gym a lot, mostly on my way back home from spending £50 a time on an all-you-can-eat-brunch.

In London I engaged in a three-month battle to cancel my Fitness First membership, having been to one class. This resulted in sweat of the wrong kind and an attitude of rageful indignation every time I so much as passed a man in Adidas pants.

“I f***ing HATE the whole fitness industry and everything you stand for!”

Also translated as: “Stop rubbing my face in my own self-indulgence and inadequacies!”

Until moving to Amsterdam

Not only does everyone around me here seem fitter than they did in the UK somehow, which is motivating in a magical way; the gyms in Amsterdam are great. And because I’ve been an idiot before, I appreciate them now.

And because the city is small, I can cycle to all of them.

All year round.

Cycling on ice, Amsterdam
Cycling on ice

I pay about 60 euros a month for unlimited gyms all over the city via OneFit. Cycling to them all makes me fitter before I’ve even done a workout. Plus it’s always a nice bike ride.

I like to wave to the people who aren’t working out along the way.

Moving to Amsterdam where people are shiny
‘You just relax, ladies.’ Photo by Laura Thonne on Unsplash

They don’t give a shit.

The Dutch are cool like that.

I never would have cycled in London. I’m sure a lot of people manage just fine, but big red double decker buses scare me; from inside as much as outside. Did you know there are traces of human poop on every seat?

I digress… now, since moving to Amsterdam, I am the type of person with a gym membership who uses her gym membership. I am also the type of person who looks forward to the gym. Finally.

It only took almost 40 years.

I smile in solidarity at every man in Adidas pants. We are one and the same. I finally rose to their level.

At first, I only did pilates classes. I like pilates. It’s the only thing that’s ever stuck — maybe because the commitment came with a sweet and surprisingly speedy reward. It gave me abs for the first time in my life, as soon as I made a routine of it. That was back when I was escaping reality/remote working in Bali a few years ago.

That’s where I got my first real taste of a healthier life.

Once I put so much moringa powder into my juice in an effort to be the healthiest version of myself ever, that on my way to pilates, I vomited all over my scooter.

I still went to that pilates class. I went to pilates four times a week in a beautiful studio in Ubud — the awesome instructor Asa now does online classes, by the way. (She’s worth it!)

Then, after moving to Amsterdam in 2016, I saw a bunch of super-toned people walking out of a studio, dripping with sweat. I thought… powders and pilates don’t make me look like that.

So I booked into a body pump class, along with those super-toned drippy people. I actually went. Then I went to another one.

I started to realise the merits of sweating.

I never looked back.

cycling in amsterdam
Such a lot of fun between my legs

Maybe it’s a little to do with my age — I decided on moving to Amsterdam from London in my mid-thirties, at a time when a cheese fondue might have taken a little extra work to burn off than before.

But maybe it’s because it’s nice to feel healthier; fitter.

I enjoy the endorphins flooding my system; the knowledge that thanks to moving to Amsterdam, there isn’t a TESCO ready meal for miles.

There isn’t a TESCO anywhere to lure me back to bad habits. Yes, occasionally the cheese/burgers/chicken/vegan bacon/stroopwafels get me, but I cook now. I actually cook meals from scratch, because feeling healthier is additive, after a while.

Oh, TESCO, it’s not you, it’s me. I just couldn’t refuse your microwavable excuses for meals when I was amongst them. I was lazy.

Will you be working out today? If so, how, where?

And if not… well, don’t feel bad. Just don’t go to TESCO for a ready meal. That’s a start.

Every little helps.

And if you’re in Amsterdam, look me up. You can always borrow my bike :-)

Hi sparkling rainbow-soul — I’m late to the Medium party. But I’m here now. Please follow me if you like my stuff. Thanks!

--

--

Becky Wicks
Traveling Inwards

Harlequin/HarperCollins author, ex-travel writer & copywriter. Writes about writing, psychedelics and expat life in Amsterdam. Editor of Traveling Inwards.