How to Write Interesting Headlines That Attract Readers

Ben Le Fort
Writing For Profit
Published in
6 min readSep 10, 2020

--

One of the goals of a professional writer is to have as many people as possible read and engage with your work. That means you need to write effective headlines for your articles.

An effective headline needs to do two things simultaneously; grab the reader’s attention and clearly articulate the benefit the reader will receive by reading your article.

In this article, I’ll detail my process for writing effective headlines and review the free tools I use to help me accomplish that goal.

An effective headline needs to grab the readers attention

If you want people to click on your articles, you need to give them a reason to do so, which means your articles need a great title.

You can have the best-written article in the world, but nobody will read it if your headline stinks.

This was a mistake I made when I started writing. I would spend a lot of time writing the content of my articles and spend less than 5 minutes on the headline. Once I started focusing on writing compelling headlines, my traffic began to take off.

Your headline should give your potential reader a reason to click. Before you publish an article, look at your headline and ask yourself if it would…

--

--

Ben Le Fort
Writing For Profit

I write about behavioral finance & evidence based investing. Want to work with me? e: info@benlefort.com Here's my Substack: https://benlefort.substack.com/