Perspective of a Jewish Writer in Support of BLM

Murder is real. Art survives. The fight never ends.

Joel Eisenberg
Writing For Your Life
9 min readJun 10, 2020

--

Promo piece for filmmaker Leni Riefenstahl’s “Triumph of the Will” (1935)

Among the 6,000,000 Jews slaughtered by Adolf Hitler were some of my relatives.

I wish I had met them. I would have loved to have heard their stories.

I was a comics fan growing up. Still am, in fact, and well before I was born in 1964 the murderer of my relatives had become a simple comic book bad guy fighting some of my favorite superheroes.

Which has continued on, of course.

For many, Hitler remains a favorite comic book baddie to this day.

--

--

Joel Eisenberg
Writing For Your Life

Joel Eisenberg is an award-winning author, screenwriter, and producer. The Oscar in the profile pic isn’t his but he’s scheming. WGA and Pen America member.