My Soothing Space

區樹民
Writing G08
2 min readSep 12, 2018

--

Whenever I hear anyone talking about their favorite places and where they have been to, there is no way I will agree with them because I have already selected the perfect spot in my life — my bedroom. The very first thing you may complain about when you walk into my room would be about the many small indentations under your feet. These were formed back when I was a senior high school student and used to play the guitar in a band. Every time I returned to my room, I would just carelessly throw my heavy guitar case on the ground, which formed these very same indentations that now make you feel a little uncomfortable. Next, since my home is on the ninth floor, on looking out the window, you will be stunned by the unbelievably magnificent view of the harbor. I remember as a student, feeling extremely exhausted at times because of the endless tests. I would just look outside at the big ships or ferries coming into the harbor, being loaded with huge cargoes, and then sailing away. They stood as a reminder that compared to them, small things such as tests will eventually pass. At other times, if you listen intently, you will definitely hear the sirens from the ships. Sometimes the sound is so powerful that you are suddenly awakened by it after a tiring study session. All in all, the next time you come to Kaohsiung and finish visiting all the spots you planned to go to, but feel empty because nothing spoke to you, tell me, and I will show you the coolest and warmest place in my life.

--

--