Where I got lost!

Stranded Deep

Marie Manuel
Writing G08
Published in
3 min readAug 15, 2018

--

One day while I was in Goa on holiday, I went with my family to Morjim Beach. Morjim beach is part of the union state Goa, which is in the mid-west part of India. It is also the place where Vasco De Gamma landed upon when he sailed in 1543.

Morjim is a white sand beach with lots of tourists and has a very symbolic cross on a metamorphic rock. The cross faces the ocean, held high on the rock for people to come and see. The Indian Ocean is a mix of the colours blue and cyan. It is very warm, and during the day the water is calm, and has a lot of dolphins (far out of course).

Now why do I mention this beach? I mention this beach because that was where I got lost. What led me astray? It all started with a sand castle! To build a sandcastle, as you all know, you need a lot of water. I climbed over a mound of sand to collect some water. However, after doing so I turned around and nothing looked familiar.

As soon as I realized I was lost I went numb, but still went around looking for someone who could help. The beach was dotted with shacks serving scrumdiddlyumptious seafood, so I decided to enter one of the shacks and ask the staff for help. “Hello, Can you help me? I am lost…” I said. “ Of course! One second,” the Sherlock man said. I call him the Sherlock man because he asked me a bunch of questions and had a cap on.

“How old are you?” He asked

“I am 8 years old” I said

“How did you get lost?” asked the Sherlock man

“I was collecting water for my sand castle, but when I turned around I didn’t see my mum.” I said

“Do you have any idea of the place you were when you got lost?” enquired the Sherlock man.

“Nope.” I answered.

“Ok, Lets go.” he said

So after that he took me to all the shacks searching for almost 20 minutes before finding my Mom. The sun was high now and it was getting hotter and hotter, and the sand was burning the soles of my sandals.

When we found my mum I started to breakdown with relief and went to lay down and wait for my dad. Following this little fiasco, my dad and I went together to collect water for my sand castle.

Ever since that incident whenever I went to a beach in Goa, I would leave a trail of stones that I could pick up on my way back to the shack ( just like Hansel and Gretel). For those who don’t know, Hansel and Gretel would leave a trail of crumbs when they ventured into the forest so they would always be able to find their way out. I did this because I didn’t want a deja vu of the fiasco. Most of the time children have a habit of getting lost, so you could use the Hansel and Gretel trick or a Theseus themed idea to keep from getting lost. Since the Goa incident, I have a small warning for other children; DON’T GET LOST!

By Seth

--

--