I love my new job

Have you ever envisioned your dream job? What does it entail? Is it a high-paying position or a role with immense power? Perhaps it’s a job you’re passionate about? Is it conveniently located near your home, allowing you to return for lunch, or near your child’s school?

Photo by Damian Zaleski on Unsplash

A curious search transformed my practice.

As an advanced practice provider, I have worked in a brick-and-mortar office for over 10 years in gastroenterology (GI). My boss is retiring soon, probably in the next 1–2 years. I need to find a job. I would like to make some changes rather than hop on another private practice, and hopefully, this change will be my last move before I retire. I gained a few years of telehealth experience during a pandemic and survived. One day, I asked our wonderful Google Genie a question about “GI provider and telemedicine job.” after a few seconds, “Oshi Health” came up on the result list. Wait a minute. What is the hack? Japanese anime? I looked it up online, and this means, “Oshi is a popular term in Japan, most often describing a person or fictional character that receives your full love and support.” Wow, it sounds pretty cool. Love and support are the most important ingredients for happiness. Let’s take a look. The website is very appealing and easy to browse around. The color and pictures create a calm atmosphere and are easy to follow, not too many words. After a few minutes of digging a hole to understand the company mission, Oshi Health offers GI care that departs from traditional brick-and-mortar services. Instead of a fee-for-service model, it prioritizes value-based care. Ok, I might lose my job soon if I join this company; who the hell in the world wouldn’t charge health insurance companies per service?

In a traditional practice, each visit and procedure generates revenue. While we have an ethical responsibility to choose the best treatment and medical decision and do no harm to patients, no one would tell an insurance company, “Don’t pay me until your members get better.” However, my curiosity guided me to the career page for a job search, and I fit all the requirements. The pay is not bad, as it is 100% remote work. I am asking myself (it sounds silly), what do I want in the next ten years? I want a flexible schedule to fit my family’s needs. I am not afraid to work from home (if someone feels lonely). Why not? Let’s give it a try (it sounds like a date).

Photo by Lon Christensen on Unsplash

I spent days researching this company and learned about the funding for series A and B, and I even watched the video of the CEO explaining why he had the idea about Oshi Health on YouTube. His mother was suffering from irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), and it was very hard for her to get help except for a few pages of the food list (fodmap diet, you know another 6-letter term of information, and you have no idea what it is by looking at it) from her GI doctor. The pain experienced by him and his mother was a significant reason for him to start the business.

In the first interview with the super talent recruiter (keep her name secret), I asked her, “Is it a real job, too good to be true?” She told me she got her salary every month, and this company is real. She expected me to meet with three more people before making any decision. Okay, it was intense, but at least she gave me the plan and the following steps.

Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

In the past, I had a disorganized interview where I was initially told to meet with four different doctors. After the last one, I was informed of two more interviews. It felt endless and was quite frustrating. Anyway, all the interviews went well with Oshi Health, and every manager was well-prepared for both the questions and my responses. Believe me, I once had an interview with a doctor who was driving. I saw only his forehead the entire time, and he was completely unprepared, just asking random questions.

After the third interview, I learned a lot more about value-based care. How often do you have a provider willing to spend more than 30 minutes with you? We often order tests and procedures to confirm that patients have no cancer or serious disease, eliminating the need for further follow-ups. However, the patient may still be in pain or unable to function in daily activities. In a fee-for-service model, the provider is paid for each visit and procedure, especially for colonoscopy and upper endoscopy.

Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

Value-based care involves making mindful decisions about procedures. Questions to consider include: Will my decision change after ordering the test or procedure? Will the procedure improve the patient’s condition? Are we ordering the test simply because it’s requested by the patient or their primary physician? The gut-brain axis is complex. Current understanding suggests that the gut influences our brain, with diet playing a significant role. Many chronic symptoms like abdominal pain, bloating, and constipation are often related to diet and brain function. Many people suffer daily pain, miss work or school, and struggle with social activities due to concerns about frequent trips to the bathroom. April 19 is recognized as IBS Awareness Day because over 10 million people suffer from IBS. These individuals can greatly benefit from consultations with a GI dietitian and GI behavioral health therapy.

Photo by Austin Schmid on Unsplash

While I am not advising the company, I would like to share a novel concept with you. Imagine having unlimited online visits with a GI provider, a dietitian, and a behavioral health therapist over a year. Yes, unlimited visits, and between each visit, you can text a care coordinator with new symptoms and concerns. This model could significantly reduce ER visits and healthcare costs.

The freedom of 100% remote work is unbeatable. I wake up at 6 am to prepare for my day (Oshi Health is set to cover all 50 states by the end of this year). I finish by 3 pm or can take an entire weekday off. My kids have swimming and Chinese classes on weekend mornings, so I see patients at home for a few hours. If there are any after-school activities or volunteering needs, I can help with no problem. I have my dream job now and can truly help my patients.

--

--

Angela Oi Chung PA-C, ER nurse, Oi Chung Channel
Writing GI stories Oi Chung Channel

I am Angela Oi Chung, a certified physician assistant in the GI world for over 10 years in California. I am a former ER nurse for 5 years. I love to read .