5 Ways to Use Google Docs as a Freelancer

A convenient tech tool for any writer

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Writing Hacks
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2020

--

A laptop open to the Google web page.
Photo by Caio on Pexels.com

Google Docs rocks for freelancers, and I don’t know where I’d be without this FREE program. I first referenced its usefulness in my previous post The Best Tech Tools for the Freelancing Mama, and there, reader (Sandra Ebejer), commented that she wanted to hear more, so here I am.

Google Docs is a go-to program for a variety of reasons. Here are 5 of them:

1. Voice Typing

That’s right, Voice Typing. When you’re in your Google Doc, scroll on over to “Tools” and click on “Voice Typing” in the drop-down menu.

This tech tool not only improves my speed, but saves me when I’m cooking, holding a toddler, AND meeting a deadline.

How it works:

Speak your thoughts and watch as text fills your Google Doc. EASY. PEASY.

Sure, the grammar’s not perfect, but that’s why I use this next handy Google Doc extension.

2. The Grammarly Extension

Grammarly, which I mentioned in my other post — 4 Alternatives to Grammarly that Toast the Typos, features a downloadable Chrome extension that works with Google Docs.

--

--

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Writing Hacks

Amanda is a work at home mama who contributes to various magazines and blogs. Contact her at writeonfreelancingllc@gmail.com for interview or blog articles.