Don’t Expect Your Writing to Support You

Michelle Monet
Writing Heals
Published in
8 min readJul 10, 2019

--

You must support IT

pixabay.com

“It starts with this: put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around.”

― Stephen King

I truly believe Stephen King when he says not to put pressure on our art to support us.

Elizabeth Gilbert, Author of Eat, Pray, Love, Big Magic etc. agreed. She has always talked about how she didn’t choose to have her writing support her. She felt she had to support it.

She said:

“…The first ten years of my creative journey, I did not make a single dime out of writing. And for the next ten years of my creative journey (which included the publication of three books) I always kept alternative day jobs — always made sure I had other streams of income to rely upon.

I did not quit all my other jobs until EAT PRAY LOVE became a crazy bestseller, you guys. And, EAT PRAY LOVE was a freak of nature. The reason I always maintained other streams of income was because I never

--

--

Michelle Monet
Writing Heals

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com