Poetry|Writing in the Margins

A Glimpse

A poem

Noelle R. Beauregard
Writing in the Margins
1 min readSep 9, 2022

--

Photo credit: StockSnap via Pixabay

I caught your mischievous smile
From the corner of my eye.
The glint in yours is obvious too.
It’s my favorite omen,
Foreshadowing events,
And confounding plans.
I can’t think objectively when I’m with you,
And I can’t say I want to.
You make reality better than my imagination,
And that’s saying a lot.
Stars, planes, streetlights, or UFOs,
It doesn’t matter.
The twinkling lights in the distance
Are part of the background
Of an already unbelievable view.
They’re beautiful,
But what we have is even more so.
The glimmer you give away
Tells more than books can hold,
And your hold tells more than art can illustrate.
I get lost in the world your eyes hold.
There’s nothing you need to say.
Your gaze gives it all away,
And mine echoes in reply.

--

--

Noelle R. Beauregard
Writing in the Margins

SEO Certified Copywriter/Content Marketer/Editor/Ghostwriter for hire. ✉️ Email: NoelleRBeauregard@gmail.com