Poetry|Writing in the Margins

Better Company

A poem

Noelle R. Beauregard
Writing in the Margins
1 min readJul 29, 2022

--

Photo credit: Laura BC via Burst

I’m tired of talking about “one day.”
It’s never going to come.
There’s more than enough chatter
And no follow-through.
When it came to brass tacks,
The follow-through fell on me.
You’ve conveniently opted out.
To you, I also fade into “one day”
That will never make it to the forefront.
I’ll never be a priority.
You expect me to hang on for the ride,
But I won’t let you discount me anymore.
I’d rather you start hating me for being different but more myself
Than continue eating my own thoughts and feelings
At my expense
For your protection and gratification.
I’ve heard we’re never more alone than
When we’re with the wrong person.
I can now say it’s true.
My next one will have to be
A better option than being alone,
And I’m damn good company
To keep the competition steep.

--

--

Noelle R. Beauregard
Writing in the Margins

SEO Certified Copywriter/Content Marketer/Editor/Ghostwriter for hire. ✉️ Email: NoelleRBeauregard@gmail.com