A Nervous Traveler’s Guide to Solo Travel

Carina Mignon
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 26, 2024

Before I went to university abroad, I had never traveled alone. Getting on the plane that first time was probably the most nerve-wracking thing I’ve ever done. At the time of writing this I have taken the trip from Asheville, NC to Canterbury, UK (or vice versa) a total of 15 times in the span of about two and a half years. And as someone who experiences an immense amount of travel anxiety, that number astounds me. While I’m not necessarily a nervous flier, the whole voyaging process really puts me on edge. Even though I’ve taken this trip so many times I still get anxious. That being said, I’ve had to come up with a few ways to help mitigate my anxiety if I wanted to get anywhere. I thought I’d share those here in the hopes of helping any fellow nervous travelers.

View of Atlanta GA from the plane. © Carina Mignon

Separate your trip into legs (and budget for extra time).

Separate your trip into each step or ‘leg’ and make a written itinerary with all of the corresponding locations and times that you need to reach over the course of the voyage. This can be on paper or on your phone, whichever is easier for you to access and keep track of. I treat it like a to-do list, any cab, car, train, or bus rides, metro lines, or flights all get recorded and checked off as they are completed. This also includes airport gates or platform numbers when you have them, and of course all expected arrival and departure times. This list does need to be at least moderately flexible given that you may need to account for schedule changes or unexpected detours, but just be mindful to budget for some extra time around legs with an uncertain duration (like airport security), and cross any other bridges when you get to them. There’s no use in over-stressing.

Have all of your travel information readily accessible.

This is necessary for travel anyway, but making sure that all of this information (documents, tickets, directions), whether you end up needing it or not, is easily accessible during your journey can reduce the amount of stress you may feel about not having it or needing it on short notice. Know what you need of course, but also what might make your trip easier. For instance, I always have my flight numbers written on my hand so I can look for them on the screen and check my gate immediately upon entering the terminal. This can be useful especially if you’re going through larger airports that may have multiple flights going to the same destination.

Have a question? Ask a question.

Seems obvious, I know, but if you find yourself confused about where you are, where you’re going, or what your next step is- ask somebody! Find a help desk or an airline employee, it’s their job to help you get where you need to go. Just ask politely and it’s more than likely that they’ll be more than happy to point you in the right direction. But, if this is daunting for you, like it is for me, then see the next suggestion:

Become your own representative.

I’m the type of person who will never ask anything of anyone to avoid being an inconvenience in restaurants, stores, etc. But when you’re traveling, asking a question can be the difference between making and missing your departure. So, if you wouldn’t normally ask for yourself, just pretend you’re asking for someone else’s sake. Think of it this way: If you don’t step up and keep moving, then your client (who’s also you!) won’t be getting to where they need to go, and that’s unacceptable.

The tunnel to the London underground from Heathrow airport. © Carina Mignon

Know where you’re going next, but don’t dwell on it.

When you’re on a long trip (or even a short trip), there’s no point spending upwards of eight hours worried about what you’ll do the minute you get off the plane. Instead, do things that help you feel calm like watch movies, listen to music, look out the window (that last one’s not necessarily recommended for nervous fliers). You can prepare yourself for what’s next as you approach your destination, but if you’re over an hour away, just do what you can to de-stress while you have the chance.

Last but not least, find joy.

I’m aware that this is easier said than done but even having the intention to find something, anything enjoyable in such a time of stress can make a difference in how much my anxiety has a hold on me. Whether it be a fun snack or some downloaded episodes of that show you’ve been meaning to finish, find a moment of joy. Because at the end of the day, you’re on your way to somewhere and the opportunities are endless.

Now go on, get out there. I believe in you.

--

--