According To Research, I Was Lucky Enough To Grow Up Watching The Best TV.

Sarah Millyard
Writing in the Media
5 min readFeb 27, 2018

As a kid I loved watching TV, and I genuinely believe my generation watched the very best.

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Growing up, I was never fortunate enough to watch The Disney Channel, as my family didn’t get this new and exciting ‘digital’ television until a lot later on; so there was merely about three channels to entertain me.

But with CBBC existing, that was more than enough!

In no particular order, here are ten programmes which entertained me throughout my childhood, and that represent the quality television my generation were exposed to.

Arthur.

EVERYDAY WHEN YOU’RE WALKING DOWN THE STREET…

bbc.co.uk

There’s something legendary about Arthur and all his animal-looking mates. The theme song was 10/10, and I always looked forward to watching Arthur and eating snacks after a long day of primary education.

Dick and Dom in da bungalow.

This has to be an all-time classic for me. I remember always wanting to be a Bungalow-Head, but never being old enough; and the spontaneity of the show and scripts made the programme what it was. It was less ‘sensible’ than a lot of children’s TV now, and it was so incredibly random that I couldn’t help but find it hilarious. I remember even my parents used to enjoy sitting and watching it with me, and who could ever forget…

…BOGIES!

50/50.

bbc.co.uk

I’m pretty sure every child used to want their school to go on 50/50 at some point in their lives. 50/50 was some incredible battle between two schools, where children had to compete on various blow-up slides and obstacle courses.

I have two words. Quality television.

Stupid.

This was yet another programme that was insanely random; some may even say STUPID, but never failed to crack me up. I feel sorry for all of the children nowadays who have never heard of, or got to experience the amazing devil finger or Jeff the chef.

A sincere tragedy.

Trapped.

BuzzJack.com

This programme actually made me nervous. The concept of children my age at the time, being trapped in a tower forever, made me wonder if they actually had been trapped for real.

And the old man was kinda terrifying.

The games on each floor were rather exciting though, but the voice with the purple lips was also very frightening.

Come to think of it, the whole programme was scary.

The Story of Tracy Beaker.

Ah, what a classic.

Based on the books by Jacqueline Wilson, this programme featured adoption, divorce and was actually pretty sad at times. We all enjoyed watching and empathizing with the various characters on the programme and all in all it was a pretty good show to watch if we could cope with our hatred of Justine, and how mean she was to Tracy at times.

Raven.

Raven has since been reintroduced to CBBC from when we watched it as kids. Although sadly not with the same main dude, sad face.

Very exciting show all in all. Lots of challenges that seemed so dramatic and intense, and a very scary enemy that the kids had to fight against. For some reason all the participants were given strange and earthy names to sound more warrior like.

They had to collect gold rings and they had feathers or lives stuck to their individual podiums.

Everyone watching got frustrated at how the final challenge called, ‘the way of the warrior’ never seemed to be completed by anyone. When a huge swinging wooden axe hit the poor participant, we sighed internally as they fell onto the bark ground below.

Best of Friends.

From what I remember about this show, it obviously involved a group of friends and they had to do various challenges. If they were lucky they received a treat. I remember wanting me and my group of friends to appear on it.

Blue sweets were involved.

bbc.co.uk

Blue Peter.

I believe this programme is still ongoing; but only once a week now, it really is a classic that even our parents enjoyed. Despite not being my favourite show, there was something about it being long-running and always having something interesting and relevant featuring in it. Another great thing about it was the famous pets and Blue Peter dogs over the years.

We wouldn’t have the famous phrase ‘and here’s one I made earlier’ without this show.

Clutter Nutters.

A more forgotten about programme, but highly relevant to me and my messy room as a kid. I probably should have applied.

ukgame shows.com

Kids had to compete against each other in a battle of who could get rid of the most stuff and have the biggest difference between the starting weight of all their things, to once they’d had a clear out. Both participants had their room re-decorated to accompany their de-cluttered spaces. A weirdly entertaining show.

Evidence.

These ten programmes alone are without a doubt evidence to prove the case that my generation were brought up watching THE BEST of television. I have researched this extensively, and have consequently come to the conclusion that these shows were far better, funnier and more entertaining than anything children are shown now.

We were very lucky.

With thanks to Keisha

--

--

Sarah Millyard
Writing in the Media

English Language and Linguistics student at the University of Kent.