According to Research, Mental Illnesses No Longer Have A Stigma!

Hannah Philip
Writing in the Media
4 min readMar 15, 2017
http://www.healthyplace.com/other-info/mental-illness-overview/list-of-mental-illnesses/

So… I lied. But I want to get real here: I just had a breakdown in my bedroom. Over what exactly? Well I bought a new phone today. That’s it. Nothing big. All I did was spend some money. I was treating myself and then a few hours later I suffered from a full body panic attack. I wish I could tell you the deep rooted reasons I have for having such intense emotions over something one could consider an exciting and small task, but I am currently still a product in the works; a car that’s still being crash-tested to see which cog needs to fit where. As much as I’m still trying to figure out and understand myself, I feel like there also needs an understanding from the outside. From you! If you, yourself, are a person who does not suffer from any sort of mental illness, then there’s a chance, according to research, that you probably know someone who does — have it be your sister, brother, mother, uncle, best friend, yoga teacher, or now that girl from your seminar. I am not ashamed of it nor am I trying to hide it from people. If anything that can make it worse and defeats the point I’m trying to make.

Now, according to research, there are multiple signs and symptoms that could help, not only the person suffering from a mental illness, but also the people around them. This ranges from being able to identify when a person may be on the verge of a breakdown to being able to help them cope during and after the breakdown. I know this can be a tricky task. In your own time, you can scour the internet up and down to do some research for yourself, but, as an example, here are some quick links that I found from just typing “anxiety symptoms” into google: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Now while not all of the websites you come across will be as official or have the prestige as the NHS website might have, you can start to recognise that the symptoms listed are repetitive and/or similar, and are considered the most recognisable and common signs. There are multiple ways that you can get involved: look in your local area for groups where you can learn how to support and understand what a mentally ill person may go through. Courses like this one are also extremely beneficial, (please note that this specific course is sold out, but similar courses are out there).

Mental illness is real…it’s scary… and sometimes they really need you to be there even if don’t communicate it. As much as I don’t like expressing my feelings in any way shape or form with practically anyone, not even my closest friends, I have never not appreciated it when someone let’s me know that they can be there to help me pick myself back up no matter how far I fall down. I should disclaim however that I do not speak on behalf of all mentally ill people for two main reasons:

  1. I do not suffer from every mental illness that is out there. Mental illnesses range widely and the symptoms and needs of someone with PTSD can be different to people who have anxiety, OCD, etc.
  2. And on top of the needs concerned with the mental illness, we also have to take into consideration the individual personal needs of the person.

We are told that everyone’s mind and bodies are unique. As an example, if you take a certain medication, it may work for person A, but person B may have a different reaction and therefore will need a different medication to solve the same problem. This is the same when it comes to the coping mechanisms. Person A may find comfort in weekly therapy sessions, while person B finds comfort from writing in a journal or through a creative outlet, or even from just taking medication; the list can be miles long.

The stigma surrounding mental illness is harmful. It stops people from talking about it and from properly understanding it. No one needs to reveal their deepest and darkest secrets. I have many that I will never, and I mean never reveal to anyone; but talking about it can make me feel a little less lonely. It makes me feel like I have a team behind me and makes me try harder to overcome the restrictions I have. Society has a lot to learn because no, we are not crazy and no, we are not weak. We are trying our hardest to get through each day with extra obstacles, that we never asked for, we want you to help out as much as you can to break the stigmas.

With thanks to Ellis Wiggins

--

--