ATTENTION: This should be your next trip… My Summer Abroad

Paris is overrated, Benidorm is cliché, and Ibiza is full of kids. Spend your money on a holiday that’s worthwhile.

George J Sharp
Writing in the Media
8 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

-©George J Sharp 2023

Brits tend to opt for hotter countries when choosing the location for their holidays. One in four tourists in Spain are British. Don’t be boring. 2023 is the year for trying new things and exploring the world now that we are completely opened back up after the pandemic, so why not try something a little more niche and adventurous? Norway is lovely yes - I hear you, but not everybody can afford a holiday to Scandinavia. If you are looking for a relatively cheap destination that is far enough away from home to feed that relentless craving for a culture shock, somewhere that you can experiment with things you may never have tried before, a historic and culturally rich landscape, filled with kind people that smile at you when you cross the road, riding bikes everywhere and strolling the streets in clogs, then why not give the Netherlands a go— ok the clogs may be a little too stereotypical but my point stands. I am talking specifically about the home of the Dom tower, Utrecht.

-©George J Sharp

I spent my summer between my 2nd and third year of University here, and it was without a doubt, one of the best choices of my life. The best part? It was partly funded by the University. I was part of the Erasmus scheme that funds students to study abroad for a particular period of time. I participated in summer school for one month and received a certificate worth ECTS points. There were many countries to choose from — I could have pretty much spun a globe, pointed a finger and could have gone to whatever location it landed on (The University of Kents GoAbroad scheme is phenomenal and I am so lucky to have had the opportunity), but I was drawn to Utrecht.

The Netherlands boasts so many positive things; a proportional representation voting system (depending on your stance on this, it could be negative); the decriminalisation of marijuana; the homeland of Vincent Van Gough; canals and flat land at every turn; incredibly efficient public transport; some of the worlds leading sustainability projects; and bike lanes galore — trust me, you’re more likely to be hit by a cyclist than anything else, but don’t worry, even though you crossed the road on a red light, they’ll still apologise to you (I'm done with the stereotypes now).

-©George J Sharp

So, what is there to do?

Utrecht in particular has held city status since 1122. It is therefore very rich historically. You can climb the Dom tower (though still being repaired), the tallest tower in the Netherlands which was built in 1321 — a marvellous feat of engineering. It sits right slap bang in the centre of Utrecht and can be reached from pretty much anywhere by bus.

Wilhemina Park is the perfect location if you crave the little quiet spots in bustling cities. Feed the ducks or sit by the ponds, maybe go and get a drink in the restaurant in the park, or admire the public artwork that is displayed here, and all over Utrecht. Close to all of this, you’ll find so many little independent businesses right on your doorstep.

Now it wouldn’t be a holiday without a shopping trip I know, so why not go into the Utrecht Centraal and have a spree. They have all the major brands, some of which are unique to the Dutch, so look hard enough and see if there are some rare garments you can bring home to brag about.

Another quirky feature of Utrecht would be the ‘Miffy’ Museum. If you are a fan of this loveable rabbit with a funky mouth, then you’ve come to the right place. This cute creation was founded in Utrecht, and the city has the ‘Miffy’ Museum with a ton of merchandise for you to enjoy!

-©GettyImages/John Keeble

One of the greatest parts about Utrecht however, is that it is a cheap train journey away from Amsterdam, plus other superb locations in the Netherlands. The trains are very easy to navigate, and you only need an ‘OV chikaart’ to travel. Of course, you can just buy a ticket, but OV cards are so much simpler. All you have to do is purchase one at a station, top it up, and you can tap and go like you would with Apple pay when using most forms of public transport. Should you decide to visit Amsterdam, you’ll be overwhelmed by the amount of stuff you can really get involved in. There is of course the Rijksmuseum which boasts a vast and beautiful array of artwork over the centuries (not all of which are Dutch), you could visit the Van Gough museum and see some of his most famous pieces on display, go to the Red Light District, try some “coffeeshops”, sit by a canal and read, pay a visit to the Anne Frank house, definitely try your luck with the cycling and see how long it takes for you to forget that it’s the other side of the road you’re meant to be on, and finally, just take photos. The architecture is stunning and you won’t be let down.

“Coffee Shops”

Don’t worry, you can still tell people the reason you chose a location in the Netherlands was because of the rich culture and heritage… The Netherlands is of course known for its relatively relaxed laws on drugs. You can truly walk into a shop, sit down and smoke/eat an edible in the open without worrying about being caught or fined. It is important to note, however, that it isn't legal, it is decriminalised. When you look at laws and regulations like this, it would feel like an accurate statement to call them a progressive country, and you wouldn't be wrong in my opinion. They do of course have their issues as do most countries, but as a whole, I do believe they hit the nail on the head with the coffee shops. The crime rate is well known to be low, and in my opinion, it does have a lot to do with the fact that police time, effort and money, aren’t being squandered on victimless crimes like possession of marijuana and prostitution.

Utrecht has many coffee shops, but one quaint one, in particular, can be located close to De Hoogstraat on a boat at the side of a canal. This shop is simply a small boat with a little section where you can sit down in a comfortable and safe environment, and smoke or consumes weed with friends. If this is your cup of tea, or ‘coffee’ I should say, then give it a go.

Culture

During my time there, I was involved in daily studies at the Universite of Utrecht. This meant that I was taking classes on Dutch history, art, politics and culture, and therefore found myself in a position where I could see flaws and positives in my own society. I met some incredible people, not just Dutch, but international students doing the same thing. We would go site seeing together, eat/drink with lecturers, have fun and explore all the major sights, some of which included excursions to the course. So even if you don’t go with people, go by yourself I would recommend it! You will meet some amazing people on your travels. We even visited the Dutch parliament in De Hague. This is such an incredible area and is within a decent travelling distance of Utrecht.

How can I get there without breaking the bank?

The best part about Utrecht is that it is essentially Amsterdam but smaller and cheaper. It is still a city, and still has a lot of the main draws that Amsterdam has but for a much lower price.

I did have huge difficulty getting there - I won’t pretend to have gotten there safely and efficiently. In fact, I decided that I would be a true skin flint, and get a coach from London Victoria Coach station to Utrecht Centraal. This of course did not pan out as planned. My coach was cancelled and I was forced to get a hotel in a Best Western for the night, losing me £200. I then had to wait until 22:00 the next night to get my coach. I went through border security where I then had to board a ferry over to France. I then got on a coach that took me to Brussels. Next, I was supposed to board a coach to take me to Utrecht, but it was again cancelled, and so I had to get a replacement which took over and over, forcing me to miss my first day of lectures. Nightmare. The way back was just as much of an a**ache.

The way to do it is to book a Eurostar. Pay just a little over £300 to get the train there, and a hotel is included in the price, and possible food depending on your package. Use it as a launchpad to explore Europe, or just stay in Utrecht.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and if you are considering Utrecht — have a blast and don’t forget that not everywhere in the world is as relaxed as the Dutch ;)

George \m/

--

--