Game of Thrones Season 8: What went right?

Freya-may Greenstreet
Writing in the Media
2 min readFeb 14, 2022
where did it all go wrong? inside or outside of the walls?

Game of Thrones was one of the most successful fantasy TV shows aired to date, but the highly anticipated final season still ignites fury despite it being released almost three years ago. To put it frankly, it was a narrative car crash.

It was a hard pill to swallow for viewers when season 8 was released, and even the cast struggled to support the abysmal writing efforts. Yet, writers of the show still claim that they are satisfied with the ending they provided, but viewers simply will not accept this and have taken it upon themselves to petition for it to be remade.

In my opinion, this isn’t an option. The damage is done.

But what went right? I can firmly say that I do not in any way support the last season. It failed every expectation I had and was a cop-out if anything. Although I could go on for days nit-picking the storyline, I’ve decided to try and find the positive aspects of the final season.

Out of a handful of favourable moments, the biggest victory for me was the death of Ser Jorah Mormont. Mormont appeared in season 1 as Queen Daenerys’ ally when she entered an arranged marriage to Dothraki leader Khal Drogo. He was originally a spy which Daenerys later discovered and to his own disappointment dismissed him from serving her. His unrequited love drove him to find her and fight for her forgiveness. Mormont did not break his promise and protected his queen until his last breath in the great war between Winterfell and the Wight walkers. For me, this was the perfect end for Mormont’s character. It was one of the only threads that the writers didn’t sever and allowed the character to follow a gratifying development. From introduction to death, Mormont served as one of my favourite characters due to his devotion and formidability throughout the eight seasons.

Sadly, it’s hard to commit to overseeing all the flaws in the season finale, and I could even continue to debunk the death of Mormont, but you must choose your battles as it were. Mormonts’ exit for me was the little salvation I could render from season eight and satisfied the minuscule amount of hope I had left. The stability of his character throughout the show placed his character firmly within my heart.

--

--