Is it ok to not be ok??

Lorettaamponsah
Writing in the Media
2 min readFeb 2, 2022

Korean dramas, or K dramas for short, is a term that recently many have become accustomed to due to shows such as the series Squid Game (which I’m sure many have watched) or the movie Parasite. As an avid and years-long fan of Korean dramas and movies, surprisingly, I’m one of the few that have watched neither of these. I am more of an individual that watches those excellent dramas or films that go specifically under the radar.

K dramas such as Mr Queen, Dr Park, Doctor Prisoner, oh my Venus, Mad Dog and many more are fantastic dramas that I genuinely believe should not be missed. With amazing actors, storylines that draw you in and cinematography to die for, these are all dramas that were left undiscovered.

Examples of kdramas on Netflix.

However, my all-time favourite and 100% recommendation is ‘It’s ok not be ok’. I watch Korean dramas in an attempt to live in a world that is essentially not my own. They can draw you into a moment where you can ignore all those you wish were non-existent. In a few words, they are an ‘essential distraction’.

It’s ok not to be ok does just that; it’s a Korean drama, in its name, explains the concept that it is ok to suffer and have hardships. We all go through it, and it is essentially ‘ok to not be ok’. The actress Seo Yea-Ji, and the actor Kim Soo Hyun, are actors I have had the chance to be familiar with in some of their earlier works, and as a result, this was a drama I was looking forward to when I first learnt about. And it did not disappoint. With only 16 episodes, it is a drama that allows you to weep, cackle and feel anguish.

Two of the main leads from It’s ok to not be okay

The series follows two men and a woman. The very damaged and hurt woman with antisocial personality disorder strives to succeed with the trauma inflicted by the person closest to her. The autistic older brother and the troubled younger brother aim to get through just a single day after losing their mother. It’s a thriller, comedy and of course romance, like any good Korean drama.

With a 10/10 rating from me, this drama can hook you right from the beginning. With a healing romance, we can see the different characters grow and eventually begin to live happier lives.

--

--