It’s never too late to go to university…but it is more tiring.

Lisahawkmoth
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 5, 2024
Photo by Lisa Browne

In January 2021, I decided to apply to the University of Kent to do a degree in English Language and Linguistics. I had always regretted not going to university after my A Levels (when it was free… how foolish) and had been persuaded by family, friends and work colleagues to follow my aspirations.

BUT, what WAS I thinking? I had a secure job, I was 55 years old for goodness’ sake and I took my A Levels in the 1980s, on paper. What did I know about course work, reading lists, exams, and assignments submitted electronically? I battled a huge dose of imposter syndrome as I contemplated and then submitted my application to UCAS. They wouldn’t accept me anyway, why would they? If I wasn’t accepted, that would be that.

I spent a few weeks putting this folly out of my mind. ‘I’ll probably be rejected so don’t get your hopes up’ was my internal mantra. In the meantime I got on with my life. This meant working through the COVID-19 pandemic as a Higher Level Teaching Assistant in a primary school. The government allowed children of key workers to attend school in person, rather than remotely, so their parents could do their essential jobs. I was there every day teaching them as well as supporting vulnerable children who were also allowed to attend in person.

I enjoyed my job but there were no new challenges or prospects for me and I did not want to become a teacher, which would’ve been a natural career progression. Like so many people during the pandemic, I began to re-evaluate my life. I started to consider whether I wanted to carry on with my job or take on a new challenge. Suffering a significant bereavement at this time which affected my mental health added to my desire to change my course of life. Every now and then I remembered about my UCAS application and checked my emails just in case.

And then one day in early February 2021, I received an email requesting me to submit electronic copies of my A Level certificates. I dusted them off and asked one of sons to help me do this (still a bit of a mystery if I’m honest). Another few days of wondering and waiting, and then another email…

I had an unconditional offer from the University of Kent (on account of my ancient A Levels) for my chosen degree. WHAT NOW? I was incredulous but elated. My application was successful…I was successful. So many emotions surfaced. Could I really do this? Come on Lisa, of course you can. But then my imposter syndrome slapped me across my face triggering crippling doubts. However, when eventually telling my husband and sons later that day, their joyous reactions made my decision easier.

So, in the middle of a pandemic, I resigned from my job to become a mature student. That’s quite normal, right?

Fast forward to 2024. I am in the third year of my degree and still can’t quite believe it has all happened. The time has passed swiftly and I am nearing the end of this incredible ride. It has been absorbing and terrifying in equal measures. I have not always found studying easy and writing essays and assignments has been a huge learning curve. Using technology has been especially challenging and still not something I am comfortable with. But, I am proud of the decision I made to return to education and of all the successes I have had, along with the not so successful. As I always told the children at school, making mistakes is invaluable; it’s what helps you learn.

These are the standout things I have learned as a mature student.

  1. I honestly do miss having a job. I miss the work environment and routine as well as having colleagues. I obviously miss my salary.
  2. University has a different routine and it took a while to get used to it.
  3. I find it very difficult to switch off and forget about university work. I always feel that I should be doing more reading or studying. It was (mostly) easier to leave work behind when I left the building.
  4. Assignments are anxiety inducing but also give a certain sense of satisfaction, even if they don’t go entirely to plan.
  5. Studying is tiring, especially when you need to get used to it again.
  6. I made the right decision for me and I have no regrets.
  7. My imposter syndrome has been dented and I am honestly proud of myself.
  8. I will probably never pay back my student loan. Anyway, as far as I’m concerned, I deferred my place for almost 40 years, so it should still be free!

My advice to anyone considering returning to education is DO IT, it’s definitely never too late… but it will be tiring.

--

--