Moving onwards and upwards from University

Graduate blues

Daisy Warner
Writing in the Media
3 min readJan 14, 2020

--

I am a final university student and as we enter the final week, of the last term of final year, it’s all starting to feel real. The excitement of no more undergraduate studies is definitely there but it is paired with extreme sadness for the term ending. It’s catch 22.

GIF by Giphy.com

Just the mere mention of the words ‘moving on’ sends shivers down my spine. Moving on. Moving away. Moving out. However, you put it, it doesn’t make it any easier to digest. I would be lying if I said that it didn’t terrify/upset me that I will be Moving on from University.

“What are your plans after you graduate?”

- I don’t know, why don’t you ask someone that does/ wants to?

University is place for making memories and you can never imagine that it will come to an end once you’re living in the uni bubble. I would like to think most people can’t quite manage the idea of this change- I certainly cannot.

Change for the better

There are some changes which are great, of course, what with moving on from the early teenage phase that featured interesting clothing choices that 14-year-old you decided was fashionable.
Along with finishing GCSEs, freeing from A-levels and moving onto university; a confused 18-year-old ready to take on the adult world.
Inevitably, at first this change terrified me but, at the same time, I felt excitement to embark on my university experience. Although, back then as I had not yet grasped all the ‘adult’ responsibilities that living at university entailed- I was somewhat sceptical. Unsure of what I’d cook or how? Managing finances. Washing clothes. Going on a food shop. Cleaning. Recycling CORRECTLY. I didn’t know what all these terms meant that have now become part of my very nature — but, I did it!
The best type of change that I welcome with open arms- the arrival of a new addition to the family both in baby and pet form. Changing your nail colour (when you have time). New clothes in your wardrobe. Changing room décor, the short list goes on.

No change there

Yet, there are other examples of change which are less appealing and that would be Moving on from University. Having spent the last four years (with the Year Abroad in between) at the University of Kent, then I can confirm the clichés; it’s been the best years of my life and I certainly enjoyed it whilst it lasted.

It is so true: university enables you to tick off so many life experiences within a short space of time. You study a subject you continue to love/ learn to hate, thankfully the former in my case. You tend to take up most opportunities “whilst you still can”. You make some (un) and forgettable friends, let’s be honest. You live independently. Although, the study side of uni is pure stress it’s dotted amongst the fun, procrastination and the real uni life of parties, endless takeaways/brunches and late nights.

However, what happens once all the good times draw to a close, the mortarboard has been tossed in the air and you are a officially a Graduate?There’s a ongoing misconception that university is just full of never-ending parties — but sadly, the party does end, and there is not anything, anyone can do to help clear it up after…

GIF by Giphy.com

New beginnings

You’re stuck questioning — what happens after university? How do you deal with these life-changing events and all the emotion that comes with it?

But, you have to go through change in order to become something you were not. You wouldn’t be able to say “I did it” if you had never taken the plunge and accepted the change. You know they always say ‘everything good must come to an end’ but why has it gotta be so SAD?!

Actually writing this article has helped me come to terms with the whole thing a little more. Putting pen to paper or finger to key and expressing my university memories and feelings has helped. I would highly recommend!
I know I’ll still feel the sadness and the confusion over where or what next? But I know, that looking back on what great times and life-changing experiences I’ve had, will help get through it all!

And, what better than starting uni all over again?

Master’s, here I come!

--

--