Rachel Redworth
Writing in the Media
2 min readMar 5, 2024

--

Mugler’s Angel Shower Gel: Angelic or not?

Image by Hippopx

A few months ago, my partner bought me what he thought was perfume — specifically Angel by Mugler. He hadn’t. Instead, he had mistakenly bought Angel shower gel by Mugler. So now I was the owner of the most expensive shower gel I have ever owned and will probably ever own again. Angel shower gel appears to mostly retail online in the region of £40–£29 depending on where it is bought.

The Packaging

It is easy to see why my partner picked up the wrong product. The product comes sealed in a box with the words shower gel in small letters near the bottom. A comparison with the Angel perfume box shows a slight difference in height and width, the front and back of the perfume box are cream. The rest of the colour of both boxes is purple. I’ve never had a shower gel in a box before so I am excited to open it.

Image by Rachel Redworth

When the shower box is opened the smell of Angel comes wafting out, unmistakeably the same as the perfume. That’s where all similarities end. The bottle is made of plastic with the list of ingredients imprinted into the back. There is also a symbol to say it will be good for 12 months. The shape of the building reminds me of a modern skyscraper — sharp angles leading to a tilted diamond shape at the top.

What is it like in the shower though?

The bottom of the bottle is the lid. The gel is clear, thick and sticky and lathers into a substantial lather of bubbles when used with a body puff. For this shower gel, a small amount is definitely enough. This is good as this bottle will last for a good few showers. On my skin, it feels silky and smooth. The smell is phenomenal, and I feel like I am standing in a perfume factory. Was it luxurious though? Honestly, no. There are shops on the high street such as Lush that sell shower gels that smell and feel just as good for a fraction of the price.

After the shower, my skin remained soft, and the smell of Angel lingered pleasantly for a few hours after.

Is it worth 40 pounds a bottle? For me, no. But I’m not going to tell my partner that.

--

--