My pet puppy memory collection

How puppies have fulfilled my life in their many shapes and forms.

Celestine
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

Rupert the puppy, photographed by Celestine Eastwood
Rupert, the puppy, was photographed by Celestine Eastwood.

Soft squeaks, pitter-patters of paws, fluffy fur and eager eyes: a collection of puppies — only recently born. One by one they developed their own little personality. We named each puppy after bears. I have always wanted all the fluffy friends I could, so saying goodbye when many a puppy went to their new home was tear-jerking.

Puppies have been a big part of my life, and I have grown up with them in more ways than one. Nevertheless, my pet puppy memory collection holds memories of those puppies dear. Alongside the two little rascals that we kept, new memories are made every day. My memory collection consists of puppies in many mediums. From creating stories with toys or painting, to raising a virtual puppy.

Plastic puppies

I soon discovered as a kid that, no, I could not take the family puppy to school or many indoor public places. Puppy in my Pocket was my solution to this. I still remember trundling along with my bag full of toy puppies. These were plastic replicas of puppies, often in miniature playsets and families. Once I produced my canine models and awakened their doggy spirits, a puppy centric story would be created. But sometimes, I would forget the bag full of plastic puppies at home. I know, very sad. Nevertheless, I could get my puppy friends to reappear using my imagination and the materials around me.

A painting of Rupert and his mama, by Celestine Eastwood

Painting puppies

Most places I went as a child would have something to entertain me. Usually, this was something to write, draw, and even paint with if I was lucky. It was fabulous when the family puppy was near my blank piece of paper (soon to be a masterpiece). But otherwise, books, the television or my imagination served just fine. I would cut out my paper puppy once drawn, then draw a tiny house, and even paint some outfits — the possibilities were endless. Recently I painted another puppy picture and felted an entire family of pups out of wool.

Pixel puppies

My first puppy videogame was probably most people’s first: Nintendogs. A series of games first released by Nintendo back in 2005. In the games, you could select your pixel puppy out of various breeds, name them, and plant the seed of friendship with your new furry friend. I remember the contests were the most intense thing ever, probably due to the equally intense music playing.

Plenty of relaxing opportunities existed too in-game. My favourite thing was taking my virtual puppy for a walk. Very lazy of me now that I think about it. But it was great fun all the same. So much fun that I bought the descendant game: Little Friends. It was technically a gift for a past partner, but I cannot deny I spent hours enjoying quality time with my cream chihuahua. You can also find some cute kitties in the games for any cat lovers.

My screenshot from Little Friends on Nintendo Switch

Playful puppies

Virtual puppies, of course, can be played with. But you get to know a personality with a real pet. For example, you have many toys in-game with Little Friends. However, I have discovered from owning a puppy that they often choose the strangest things to become their toys. Our whole family of puppies and dogs is obsessed with… socks and chairs. In terms of the former, despite the many toys gifted to the three pups we have — no, they would much rather entertain themselves with a sock. In terms of the chairs, most of them have been chewed away by now. So there is not much more to say on that note. These traits are, yes, odd, yet endearing too.

In more ways than one, puppies have happily scampered into my heart, from childhood memories of my favourite toys to growing old with these family pets. Perhaps some of these forms of puppies fit certain lifestyles more than others. That is something to think about before getting one yourself. Any puppy is a forever friend, not just a present or accessory. These bundles of fur form the memories that stick with you throughout your life.

What would any of our lives be like, without puppies?

A collection of puppies, photographed by Celestine Eastwood

--

--

Celestine
Writing in the Media

Interested in travelling, languages, arts, culture, video games and animals~ All old dated work for a university portfolio besides some life changes edits.