Out of sight, close to the heart

Gabrielle Lafaix
Writing in the Media
4 min readJan 27, 2021
Chongqing, China. Photo by Gabrielle Lafaix

You have probably known people you can’t forget. People who inspire you, who support you, or simply people you care about. And sometimes, there is no need to spend years with them so they are engraved in your memory.

It makes me think about a Chinese girl I met five years ago and who became my friend.

When everything began…

It was in 2016, I had just completed my first high school year. My school had a partnership with one in Chongqing, in the southwest China. Through a cultural exchange programme, Chinese students were coming to France that year. My family and I accepted to welcome one of them.

We were very excited by this! But I was a little nervous too. I was learning Mandarin for one year and I didn’t know if I would be able to speak with my Chinese correspondent. It appeared there was no need to worry though. A few days before she arrived, we got to know each other via emails. I could not wait to meet her.

Few days, but lots of memories

Eight girls and their French teacher arrived. We welcomed them with some signs and this message was hung on the school building, meaning “Welcome teachers and students from Chongqing Foreign Language School”:

Photo by Gabrielle Lafaix

The days that followed were unforgettable. The visit of the town, the afternoon at the swimming pool, or the market. I remember this day. My family and I took my Chinese friend to Chartres. On a place near the cathedral, there was a market. Look at the picture below and imagine. Delicious smells emerging from the stands, people asking for fish or fruits. A pleasing atmosphere on a Saturday morning. For the first time, my Chinese friend tasted cheese and apricots — no need to say she preferred the apricots!

Chartres’ market place. Photo by Gabrielle Lafaix

It is incredible how some little moments like this may be unforgettable. Moments spent with a person met only few days ago and yet, who will mark you forever. My Chinese friend has been very nice, respectful and curious about everything. She stayed only five days, but five days that I can never forget.

Saying goodbye… to find each other again!

The year after, French students came to China. I was going to live in my Chinese correspondent’s home and I was looking forward to seeing her!

With my Chinese class and teacher, I went to Chongqing. It is a huge city! A population of over 8 million. High buildings everywhere, the Yangzi river separating the two parts of the city, which needs at least one hour to be crossed by car!

Chongqing, China. Photo by Gabrielle Lafaix

Again, we spent marvellous moments. My Chinese friend showed me places in the city. We took the subway which crossed a building! I even had the opportunity to go to her school. Although the sky was grey, our hearts were vibrating and our eyes were illuminated by the sparkling buildings at night! A city of stars, shining just for us…

Chongqing at night. Photo by Gabrielle Lafaix

“Friendship across the world make near neighbours of far horizons.” — Wang Bo, Chinese poet

I came back from this journey with wonderful memories, but above all, a friend. A friend from the other side of the world. I have not seen her again since 2017. And I miss her. But thanks to technologies, we are still able to get in touch! The distance and absence are less painful.

But I know, somewhere deep inside, that I will see her again. It’s only a question of time.

What about you? Is there such a person you will never forget?

--

--