School Is Actually For Learning, Shocker

Jemimah
Writing in the Media
3 min readJan 28, 2020

What I wish I’d known before I was a teenager

CGP Books

You know back in the day when you were a teenager and you thought you were grown and your parents told you that you were still a child. Guess what… they were right. Being a teenager were really the simpler times. The stresses from then cannot compare to the stresses now, and of course back then it felt like the weight of the world was on my shoulder but when I look back now, I long deeply to go back to my teenage years.

Now at my 20 years of age, I have realised how crucial those seven teenage years were. They were the road to who I am.

Most of our teenage years are spent in secondary school. And let me tell you, they may or may not be the funniest year but they are definitely are the longest years. Secondary School is full of fake girls, immature boys, annoying teachers and worst of all PE. I spent a lot of my time in Secondary School comparing myself to the next girl and I guarantee you that I wasted a lot of time doing that, mostly because now the majority of those girls I don’t even speak to or see now. Don’t think too much about what people think of who or how you may come across to others, have confidence and stand tall in who you are and who you want to be. Don’t allow yourself to be transformed by the words of others. Your main focus should be about bettering yourself, moulding yourself for the days to come.

Another thing, school is important! Of course, it is a laugh, you get to see your friends from Monday to Friday but just in case you didn’t know, you actually there to learn. It may seem hard but all you have to do is apply yourself. If you focus more in class not only will you do great in school but you will also see how much potential you hold. Don’t limit yourself because you have limited yourself, I know that sounds crazy but it’s so true. You shouldn’t be the reason why you can’t reach your own potential.

PSA… DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT SHED A TEAR OVER A BOY! They are so not worth it, I think as girls we often forget the scientific fact that boys are way less mature than girls which means if you are dating a 16 year old boy, their actual age is 5. Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an over exaggeration but you get the point. They are so not worth the stresses because there is an 0.02% that you will be with them for the rest of your life anyways.

Side note: These statistics are taken from Jemimah’s brain, use at your own risk!

The last and most important piece of advice I would like to give you is that you should listen to your parents. A shocker, I know you weren’t expecting that. Although you make think that you know more than them, I’m sorry to inform you that that is completely false! They have lived a whole life before you existed which means they have a whole load of experience, so trust me when I say that they are usually right and that listening to them will save you a lot of headache and not headaches from stress but headaches from hearing their nagging voices telling you “I told you so”.

So, take all this advice into account and your life will be 100% set. Again, all these statistics should be taken with a pinch of salt.

--

--