Social Media is for Idiots

Marina Velez
Writing in the Media
2 min readFeb 7, 2017
http://www.marcelopedra.com.ar/blog/2014/12/18/en-whatsapp-para-android-ya-podemos-desactivar-el-doble-check-azul/

Okay, think about it and be honest, how many times have you taken it personally that somebody has read your message and didn’t answer? How many times have you seen a picture on Instagram of a couple kissing and announcing how much time they’ve been together? Or, how many times have you seen hundreds of snapchats of every second in a person’s life? And all these things, why? Easy, because we’re idiots — some more than others, but idiots anyways.

Nowadays, people live through their profiles in social media, they can die for one like Facebook or maybe Instagram, people can hang out with their friends and not even paying attention to them just because they’re checking on Twitter or Whatsapp. What can you tell me about Youtube? It was developed as an app to upload music on it and, what is now? I can tell you; have you ever seen a video of a cockroach and a centipede fighting while a Linkin Park song plays? I have, and I’m not proud of it- although it was funny.

Sometimes I think this is an Illuminati conspiracy to make us more stupid and to makes us slaves. Sometimes I think that what George Orwell wrote in his book 1984 is not too far from reality and from what we are living in the 21th century. Sometimes I think that if there’s a zombie apocalypse hopefully they will die from starvation because the only brain we have is in our hands and it’s not edible. Sometimes I think we live in Matrix and we don’t even know it. What I’m trying to say is that, yes, we can have 500 friends on Facebook, but, how many of them are true friends? I bet that no more than those you can count with your fingers.

So, please, don’t think that person doesn’t want to talk to you when he/she has read the message and didn’t answer- it can be because of something else that might not related to you. Please, don’t upload one picture of you kissing with your partner, nobody cares if you’ve been together for three weeks. Please don’t put pictures of what you’re doing every five seconds, we’re not interested in you going to the gym. Please, pay attention to your friend while you are hanging out together. Please, go out and live your life to the fullest, don’t live it through a screen.

And in case you were wondering, yes, I do almost all of these thing- I’m an idiot too, but hopefully I won’t be eaten by a zombie.

Edited by Leung Sin Yue Joyce. Interesting article.

--

--

Marina Velez
Writing in the Media

24 years of picky eating experience. I have never trusted my taste buds, but I do trust my buds’ gut and my own in trying new foods.