Social Media is for Idiots

Guillaume Tardivat
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 7, 2017

Okay lets begin. I’ve been on this for 30 minutes but I haven’t started yet. Just getting distracted by social media. I mean, I’d have to agree to some extent though. There is definitely a lot of idiotic shit on social media. But we all use it. And a lot.

Prime example, Twitter. I do like Kanye West, but some of his Twitter statements are pretty stupid. And he’s not the only one. Oh, and Twitter arguments are pretty bad too. But I don’t think that’s the worst.

There are social media rehab programes. Like how has it gotten this bad? Shortly after writing this I decided to ask one of my friends on messenger what he thought about this. I had to include his replies below:

- “some people need it

- dude Kylie Jenner annoys me a lot

- all her instagram videos are of her posing with her butt

- or her asking her friends to hold her cameras for her and do something that’s -supposed to look innocent and cute

- haha not that I follow her

- she’s on the daily mail Snapchat thing”

I mean, that’s so true though. I could go on for days about how stupid some of the daily mail stories are on Snapchat. I think there’s a bigger problem though. These days social media has become a habit and sometimes gets too much. So I went to see Drake at the 02 this weekend and way too many people were snapchatting or instagramming like the whole concert. I’m not going to be hypocritical though. I uploaded a few stories and sent some videos to friends who share the same interest but I didn’t spend my whole time doing it. That’s because I think it’s so much more enjoyable to take it in and experience the momment. That seems normal. But you’d be suprised how many people lived the concert through their phone screens.

Something I really don’t understand about social media is the popularity of vloggers though. I saw that some are now at Madame Tussaud. It would be great if someone could explain. Also, Keeping up with the Kardashians. How do so many people watch that shit????????

I’d have to say that social media can be very useful too though. It allows me to communicate with friends from all over the world and to keep up to date with interests.

For example, social media is used a lot to promote new products or contents. Brands do this a lot like Adidas with Yeezys but so do artists with new music. Just today I used an application I found out through reading an article via social media in order to try and buy some shoes. I also heard a newly released song on youtube that had been played at a concert over the weekend. Thank god for all these people living the concert through their phones. At least it can turn out to be useful. There are also a lot of news coming through social media. I’m not sure that’s a good thing though.

There are now so many ways to keep up with friends and this keeps on changing over time. Before it was MSN. I loved MSN actually, the orange little flash from the different chats. Then it was Facebook. Posting pictures. Writing stupid statuses. Or speaking to each each on our walls/timelines?? Like why did we used to have conversations by writing on our friends walls where everyone could see everything. But yeah thankfully we now use messenger or whatsapp to chat privately. Skype, now mostly replaced by Facetime, is also really useful to keep in touch and catch up through video chats. Instagram is yet another social media platform we we use to upload and browse through pictures. Those are only a few though and there are many more. Social media has also allowed us to compete against one another through games. I only use Fantasy leagues but there are other famous games. Fantasy football is great because it adds an another interest and excitment to football games. The concept is simple. Everyone enters a league and picks players to compose a team. Depending on how these players do in real life they get awarded points. You can make changes weekly to adapt to players forms. Obviously the aim is to get the most points in order to win the league and finish in front of all your friends. Companies even do this. Last year I was part of the Walt Disney employee league. It was always fun to discuss games and how many fantasy points you had received over the weekend.

Is social media too much though? Realistically it may be but its just become a habit and some people do not know how to control it. I do have to admit it can be scary how much some people care about it. An episode from the Netflix series Black Mirror illustrated this from an interesting point of view. But it also raises questions and arguments whether social media is taking over our lives. Something else that’s frightening though is how people fall in love with an online user. It happens often and if you don’t believe me go watch Catfish. It’s pretty entertaining.

With thanks to Otto Hall

--

--