Social Media is for idiots.

Ellen Hudson
Writing in the Media
3 min readFeb 6, 2017

Or is it?

Image credit: Unsplash / Lina Yatsen

Social media is always the easy target. And yes it does have some negative aspects, like every part of life. Social media has a nasty reputation for being a platform for cyber-bullying, a breeding ground of extremism, and for spreading “fake news” and “alternative facts”. It is therefore sometimes easy to assume that social media and the internet in general are entirely negative entities, overwhelmed with trolls. But I don’t think that’s a totally fair assumption to make. Sure, social media has its bad elements, but it’s not lacking in good elements either.

Social media has undoubtedly made our world smaller. Events that would have gone virtually unknown around the globe previously are now relayed instantly. The idea of waiting for a newspaper or even a news bulletin to find out about world events is long gone. Social media platforms like Twitter allow us to find out about all sorts of events instantaneously; from football matches to award shows, from political debates and acts of terror. We are now not only watching the story, but we are actively participating in it. My opinion is not only given voice through social media, but it can be validated or refuted by others.

That’s essentially what social media is. It is a mere extension of ourselves. We can express any aspect of our personality, daily life, even our shopping habits over a variety of platforms in an instant. I will always be the first to put my hands up and say; I am a social media fiend. You name the platform, I have the account. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat; I use them all. And I will also admit, that I carefully curate my social media presence. From the tweets I write, to the photos I post on Instagram, everything I upload undergoes a certain degree of scrutiny before I agree to click post. Take these articles for example; I wouldn’t say that I have overtly censored myself, but I have been constantly aware that these posts will by shared on my social media platforms to encourage people to read them.

But without social media, you more than likely wouldn’t be reading this article. In the 21st century, social media is completely unavoidable. We have been gifted with unlimited means to spread our ideas and opinions. We, the little men and women, can now make our voices heard far and wide. Access to a far-reaching and unlimited audience, which was once the sole privilege of politicians and celebrities, is now available to us all.

To say that social media is for idiots is to completely disregard those who have unlocked the deep monetary potential of such platforms. Blogging, vlogging, and sharing your entire life on social media has become a validated and increasingly respected career. And big brands have taken note. Countless tech companies, fashion and cosmetic companies, movies and TV shows, almost any brand or company you can think of has some sort of social media campaign. Bloggers and other “social influencers” are frequently employed to help promote products to their thousands, sometimes millions of followers. There is, however, much debate between bloggers and people with immense influence about declaring their social media content which has been paid for, or for which they may receive commission on units sold. I am one of those girls that is often fooled by bloggers whether they declare their sponsored posts or not. I’ve constantly fallen into the trap of trying and buying items I’ve seen them use or wear. My particular vice? Shoes.

I will eagerly admit that I’m addicted to social media. When I’m not tweeting, or Instagram-ing, or Snapchat-ing, I’m constantly scrolling. I am happily part of “the iPhone generation”. Through social media, I have formed some of my strongest views, opinions and tastes. I don’t limit myself to just following fashion bloggers, although I love to. I follow theatre and music critics, social activists, politicians. I have learnt so much about so many valuable causes through social media. I have learnt how to be a feminist, how to debate with others constructively, how to contour. Social media has not only made my world smaller, and more connected; it has expanded my horizons, and educated me on things I never thought possible. And if all of that makes me an idiot, then I am a happy one.

With thanks to Leung Sin Yue Joyce.

--

--