Stop the lies — You DON’T LIKE Drinking Anymore.

Hangovers and regret. Yep. That’s alcohol.

Archie Bailey
Writing in the Media
2 min readApr 5, 2022

--

Photo by thom masat on Unsplash

Age 21 was when I admitted to myself… I kinda don’t like alcohol anymore…

Yes, I know shoot me. I’m British, how can I not like alcohol?

Well… I still do, but not in large amounts.

Some people just don’t like the intoxicated feeling of alcohol, others don’t like the person they turn into when drunk.

My issue is THE HANGOVERS.

When I tell you, I feel I’m dying the whole of the next day, without fail. A Hangover is inescapable for me. It manages to dig its claws into me even after three pints, and there is nothing I can do. Day ruined…

Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

Countless mornings I would ask: “why am I doing this to myself?” after a night out. I’d make a pledge that I am going to slow down and not go out as much.

Then an event, festival, party, or club night will roll around and I’ll be coerced and pressured into coming…

And then the cycle will repeat itself.

I ENVY people that can just get up and go to work, completely FINE the next morning, after watching them crawl on the floor the night before, muttering drunken nonsense and having to put them to bed.

How do you do it?

If I was in a state like that you might as well put me to bed in a coffin, because I’m going to wake up undead, zombie-like probably throwing up 10 times the following morning, unable to eat a thing.

It’s been a month since I’ve consumed alcohol, and I don’t particularly miss it…

I can get on with my days not feeling dreadful and incapacitated.

Call me old.

Call me boring.

But bad hangovers sometimes outweigh the good times of the night before.

Now… stop lying to yourself saying that you will stop getting drunk so often, whatever it is that is affecting your relationship with alcohol, trust your gut because it’s in pain from all the binge drinking, let it have a break, and let yourself have a break too…

--

--